Sort:  

NextColony is calling it a day after this 'season'

apologies, but it's a steem link

Season V has started. This is the final season on the Steem blockchain. We will abandon Steem after this season.

The whole project will be open source after the final season. So everyone is free to use the code for a new project or to continue NextColony on the Steem blockchain. Shortly after the last season is over, we will shut down the servers and insert the GitHub links in this post.

So they are shutting down the game? This is sad news. They should migrate to the Hive blockchain, as many other dApps done. Now I feel like I wasted my time on the game, because I have not achieved anything meaningful in the game. I only upgraded buildings and skills. I have not even had the chance to build an Explorer ship to explore the galaxy and earn Stardust (SD). The Explorer ship requires level 20 ship skill, level 13 shipyard building skill, level 13 shipyard building skill. I started upgrading the ship skill from level 19 to level 20 literally now. It will take 08:37:08. Yes. 8 hours, 37 minutes, 8 seconds. The progress in this game is slow. So probably many other players are in similar shoes. The shutting down of NextColony is another huge disappointment on the Steem blockchain.