You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: [Crypto Security] - Increase security by using encrypted DNS

in LeoFinance3 years ago

Hmmm...I am using 1.1.1.1 as my DNS server but that site is reporting that my DNS is not secure. It says:

We detected you’re using 1.1.1.1 (a secure DNS resolver) but not over a secure connection. Anybody listening on the wire can see the DNS queries you make when using the Internet.

Any idea why that is and how I can fix it?

Sort:  

What browser? Depending on browser/version you may need to go into config page and turn on Secure DNS.

https://developers.cloudflare.com/1.1.1.1/dns-over-https/web-browser
^ This may help for configuring browsers.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I'm using Brave. Secure DNS was turned on in the settings but for whatever reason I had to tell Brave to use Cloudflare for secure DNS even though it's set at my router also.

image.png

That's a new setting they just added. I noticed for me it works without specifying that but I did change it to specifically choose 1.1.1.1 recently to see if I could get ESNI working, but it is no longer being supported.

Glad you got it working, it's especially useful when traveling with a laptop on untrusted networks.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta