It's Time to Power Down for Power Up Day

in LeoFinance3 years ago

powermeter.jpg

It is seven days to the end of the month. Today is the day that one should power down to have funds for power up day.

Powering down to power up sounds like one of those foolish paradoxes that I keep talking about on this account.

@HiveBuzz gives a badge to people who power up 10 HIVE on the first day of the month. This is the prestigious badge. All of the cool kids have one.

PowerUp.png

Ten HIVE is a huge order. Most users on HIVE do not earn Ten Free Hive in a month. Remember, rewards tend to come as 50% HP and 50% HBD. That means one has to earn at least 20 HIVE in the month to get 10 free HIVE.

Quite frankly, I don't think I've ever earned 10 free HIVE during any of the 42 moons that I've been on the platform.

I decided to see if I could make a go at the 10 HIVE power up day this month. I've accumulated 5.358 HIVE so far. The payout page on PeakD says that I have 1.124 HBD in upcoming rewards. I might be able to get 2.4 HIVE for that HBD which brings my total to 7.75 HIVE.

The exchange rate for HBD and HIVE might change; So, I am not sure if I should count those eggs as chickens.

I will try to publish two posts today. HiveBuzz.me says that I earn an average of 0.9 HIVE per post. It is conceivable that I could earn one free hive on two posts. I wouldn't count on it.

I will try to comment on a half dozen posts today. Even with a dozen comments, I can't see myself earning enough free hive for a 10 HIVE power up.

I will make the leap of faith an assume that I will have 7.75 free HIVE on power up day. That means I need to power down 2.25 HIVE.

Powering down is a 12 step process. 2.25 * 12 = 27 HIVE. I need to enter the number 27 in the power down form.

I don't like the idea of having to power down to power up. HiveBuzz monitors all activities. They should rig the award to exclude people like me who power down in the week before the award.

As for the pictures: I snapped a photo of a power meter for a post about powering down. I then snapped a photo of some eggs to discuss the process of counting chickens before they hatch. Do you think I will get any chickens at all from this set of eggs?

BTW, the truly prestigious badge involves powering up 10 HP into a different account. Some day I might power up 10 HP into a random newbie account just to get the badge. Of course it is also easy to game that badge. I could simply power up my 10 HP into an account that I owned. I would appear to be giving to others when, in fact, I was just greedily hoarding the coins in my own corner.

eggs.jpg

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Sort:  

Fun fact - I've never actually powered up on any power up day

Truth be told, I don't like the "Power Up Day" concept. It is far too manipulative for my taste.

Think about it: On Power Up Day, HiveBuzz asks people to make a financial decision to prove loyalty to the platform.

I care a great deal about the new users. It is hard for a new user to make 10 HIVE in a month. The ones that do should power up throughout the month.

As for long term users, the easiest way to get the badge is to power down 10 HIVE so that they could power up 10 HIVE on the first.

I hope HiveBuzz realizes the foolishness of the design.

That said, I find HPUD as a good excuse to take a snapshot of my account. I was doing this with an external spreadsheet. My spreadsheet got confusing when I tried to factor in the alt coins.

Congratulations @yintercept! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 5000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 6000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Interesting. I was wondering when that day was. I guess I did it at the right time when I powered up last month. I received the badge.

Another idea. You could write interesting posts and put them with the #proofofbrain tag. Then you'll receive POB tokens which are often worth close to $1 each. You can trade them on the market for SWAP.HIVE and then you can withdraw that swap hive and use that to power up.

EDIT: Looking at your wallet I can see you have already likely been aware of this for some time. It is an option to use without having to power down.

It gives me a compelling reason to power up some new users.

Congratulations @yintercept! You received a personal badge!

You powered-up at least 10 HIVE on Hive Power Up Day!
Wait until the end of Power Up Day to find out the size of your Power-Bee.
May the Hive Power be with you!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Day - June 1st 2021 - Hive Power Delegation
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!