Should We Have a Way to Buy and Sell HIVE Accounts?

in LeoFinance4 years ago

(PS: I suspect that others have asked this same question.)

HIVE is a collection of social media accounts. The value of HIVE is determined, to a large extent, by the value of the accounts.

This means that one of the best ways to improve the price of HIVE is to find ways to improve the value of the constituent accounts. N'est-ce pas?

I have often asked myself: What is the value of my HIVE account?

I get a very small trickle (maybe ten hits a year) of web traffic from old posts on SteemIt. The value of my old posts is essentially nothing.

The main value is the HP in the account. I think I would be hard pressed to find someone willing to buy my account for 90% of the reported market value of my account.

It is not just the low quality of writing in my particular account. I fear that there is very little intrinsic value to most of the accounts on the platform.

Ask yourself: How much do you think you could get if you sold someone your HIVE account?

I stated that people in the open market are likely to value HIVE accounts at a rate below the reported "market value" of the account.

However, HIVE users might value accounts a premium. I really don't know if they would or not. Would you buy a fully developed HIVE account? If so, how much would you pay for it?

About This Question

@hive.consultant wrote a post advocating the creation of Permanent HIVE Power. PHP would be HIVE POWER that an account could never power down. I like the idea; however it creates a dynamic where people would sell their account on the open market rather than powering down to nothing.

Questions for Debate

Anyway, I started thinking about what is entailed in buying and selling HIVE accounts. I would love to hear what other have to say on this issue.

As I understand, there is nothing that prevents people from selling accounts. Transferring the account si simply a matter of giving the other person the keys to the account.

Should there be mechanisms to prevent people from selling their account?

Let's say a person dies of COVID19, should their heirs be allowed to access and sell off the HIVE in the account? Or should we have a system to block the sale of the HIVE so that we can keep the money for ourselves?

Personally, I think the ability to sell whole accounts would increase interest in HIVE. It would definitely increase interest in HIVE if people sometimes sold accounts for higher than the reported market value.

If people are allowed to sell accounts. Then I think we should have a formal mechanism to sell whole accounts ... some sort of account auction.

I then started thinking about what would be entailed in creating a formal mechanism for buying and selling HIVE Accounts. There would need to be a system for listing accounts for sale. There would need to be an escrow system that held the keys for the account. The escrow system should actually change the keys and the Recovery Account.

There probably should be a way to mark that an account is under new management on the blockchain.

Conclusion

@hive.consultant made his post on LeoFinance so I thought I would barage into the community and extend the question.

My opinion is that the value of HIVE is determined by the value of the accounts on HIVE; so I believe that creating a formal mechanism for buying and selling HIVE accounts would increase the value of the individual accounts and the platform at large.

The picture is by Unitone Vector on BigStockPhoto.

bigstock-357051509.png

Sort:  

I do agree, if you were to sell a Hive account, it would be nice to have an official function to sell the account, and maybe even a feature to delete postings from the account. Granted, all of the original posts would still be on the blockchain, but it would be like a fresh account on the interfaces.

It also raises the question, what happens when you sell an account that has a bad reputation score? I think that would play into a marker as a new owner as well.

I think a formal mechanism for selling accounts would be better than a backdoor mechanism. For example, scammers might want to buy accounts with a strong reputation to help push the scam. If the account were sold through a formal mechanism, the system could reset the reputation while those sold on the open market would not reset the reputation.

BTW: Selling accounts involves the IP rights related with an account. In some cases the seller might want to sell IP for images and texts in the account. In other cases, they might want to retain the copyrights. Such things could be stipulated in a formal contract and recorded on the blockchain.

Congratulations @yintercept! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 3000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 3250 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Day - Let's grow together!
The HiveBuzz Shop - New Items and Designs