Sort:  

As long as you're funding it and not the DHF, fantastic.

I might go that route, but I wouldn't value it more than $50/d, and that would be the EXTREME case. The issue with non-tech people is they tend to overcomplicate stuff. On the other hand, this is my profession.

But realistically speaking, $10/d is enough for maintaining something like that. Server costs plus 5 hours of development time per month. It doesn't need leaderboard or the next hype. It is just what it is. And maintaining that is easy

But you can see the issue of front-ends getting money from the DHF, but not actually monetising the content, right?

How its not sustainable?

Yeah, I think the same. Hundreds of dollars per day is too much for that. I'm personally okay with DHF paying $10/d, but I get your point. That's why I said "I might", because I'm unsure of it either.

As an solid and real world case I can say show how open-source community works. If people act like this is a business, it would have business degree costs. But there are people out there writing code worth of thousands of dollars for free.

So, if I become too busy with something else, I'd probably make it open source and allow someone else to take over. I'd do it open-source, but I dislike the idea of money incentivized entities stealing my work or being influenced by it.

I have many ideas I haven't implemented for or shared with leofinance; saved for myself. So, if I can make it a reality, something people respect and know, then I can make it open-source with no issues.

Good luck with it mate, as a $HIVE stakeholder, I do hope it works out.