First Adventure Into An Antiques Store Looking For Silver

in LeoFinancelast month

Evening folks

So today I offically started my SilverStacker journey.
What a nightmare it turned out to be!
So I started by looking over the Royal Mint website again looking for some coins/bars that would interest me. Next came the trip to my local antique's centre which a friend of mine told me about.

Inside was a trove of awesome things. One being a really beautiful chess board and table. An absolute stunner but sadly I was there for silver coins so it was a missed buy that I am truly regretting tonight as I write this.

Onto the silver we go!

So I saw the 2 pictured coins in one of the cabinets and at first I thought these are the ones Il be buying today. But then I noticed the price and it put me off. Silver when I checked in the morning was sat around £19.50 ish. These prices just seemed too high for me so I passed on these.

Further looking kept bringing up more and more coins but either alot more or just not what I was looking for.
I did stumble across a 10oz silver coin at £275 with no wiggle room on the price. The size of it actually really surprised me. It was the size of a cup saucer and I really didn't expect it. The weight was also alot more than I thought it would be. Sadly I didn't get a picture of it. It was a very shiny beauty of a coin.

After a good hour of looking over all the interesting items they had I got chatting to one of the dealers who had some Victorian 1oz silver coins. They were huge and heavy. I liked them alot, but he could tell I was new and wanted to pull my pants down over the prices. £30 a piece was his asking price with no negotiaion room at all. Again with the price of silver I felt it wasn't something I was happy to buy just yet. Also with the coins being over 100 years old I wasn't sure how trusting I could be of the dealers claims that they were indeed 1oz silver coins. I felt that they surely would have had a higher value but I could be wrong.

I left the centre with no silver to show for my work but I got chatting with @geneeverett in the #silvergoldstackers discord who was a great help to me. I had been looking at a couple of coins on Ebay
and he gave me the advice that Ebay is a nightmare. Which I was fully aware of, but never took into consideration that scams for silver coins would be as often as they are.

With that I decided that tomorrow Il try another antiques store, albeit a much smaller one, that isn't too much of a drive away. Hopefully I come across something nice there and decide to take the dive.

My determination is that I will not over pay for these coins and I want to get a good start on the silver ladder.

Thanks for stopping by, I hope to get chatting to you all soon.

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  

Better luck with the hunt next time !BBH

@youloseagain! Your Content Is Awesome so I just sent 1 $BBH (Bitcoin Backed Hive) to your account on behalf of @bitcoinman. (19/50)

Hi @youloseagain,
Thank you for participating in the #teamuk curated tag. We have upvoted your quality content.
For more information visit our discord https://discord.gg/8CVx2Am

Its never too late to start stacking, good luck on your hunt!