Could robots ever take over this part of the world?

I recall a conversation I had with my older brother some weeks ago when we got into my father's car and the radio came on. He said, "very soon, internet radios will take over."

At first, his statement sounded revolutionary. Then on the second introspection, I told him to think it through.

Brian-Sokol-images-are-part-of-the-Sony-backed-FutureofCities-initiative_head-SwaliAfrica.com_.jpg

2 years ago, I paid a visit to my mother's paternal community that's 3 hours away from the state capital on water.

In this community, they had no cellular network connection, let alone an internet connection. Within the community, people used walkie-talkies.

That was the first time I ever saw what they called 'string technology'. People tied their phones to strings hanging down roofs for a couple of minutes until they got some cellular network to make calls to people outside the community.

With these in mind, I asked my brother how in the world this part of the world would ever gain access to internet radio?

Development here is slow and unequal. As much as I would love to blame the government for all our problems, in that community, they had allocated money for cellular communication masts twice and the money had been squandered. That's a story for another day.

Will robots ever take over this part of the world?

Unless there's a hostile take over, I'm talking robots killing humans kind of takeover, I don't see how something as basic as an internet radio could take over the typical radio in the next 10 to 20 years in this part of the world.

This has nothing to do with a lack of belief in the country, maybe partly so, but it's just what it is.


WhatsApp Image 2021-04-15 at 08.22.50.jpeg

I write for therapy and pay.

Check out my Freelance Gigs

Here's my recent story:

Dawn

You can contact me:

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Sort:  

China could be the one to dominate the robotic world, if you are referring to Africa when you say this part of the world, I would say it most unlikely at least for the next 40 years. We are behind in Africa in terms of technological development and it appears our leaders are less keen on a technology developed continent.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Im referring to the basics, like mobile network services.
Technological development is almost non-existent in Africa.