Debt is normal, no?

Debt is normal. I think. But I don't know how to live with it.
96123910funnycartooncharactersadbusinessmanwithabigdebtweight.jpg
I remember getting into debt every month when I ran a business 2 years ago. It was so frustrating. Every month there was one thing or the other hanging above me. I would earn money and it would disappear. I felt trapped.

Now everyone responds to debt the same way. Some people can't survive without being in debt. It's crazy. They think to themselves "have I been in debt this month" when the answer is no, they search for the next person to borrow from.

I have such an absurd fear of debt that I don't even want to accept favours. I feel like I'd have to consciously be nice to a person when they do nice things for me. And then, I feel like I owe this person something. So, I hate accepting favours.

Recently, I needed help. Normally, I would text my brother and borrow money but I needed this money to sort out arrangements for his wedding. So obviously, he wasn't an option.

I texted a friend and said "look, I need help. I know you're busy so if you can't help, I get it"

What's funny about this friend is that on several occasions I've bailed him out of picky situations. And he always pays back. He once told me I was one of the few friends he considers reliable. But I've never considered him reliable or even the possibility of him being a helping hand. Ever!

He texted back and sent me what I needed immediately.

It feels good knowing I have a friend who can be there for me. I rarely have those. Or maybe, I rarely think I do.

Someone once told me that I'm too "self-sufficient". Truth is, I hate feeling indebted. I hate owing. So I clear every debt. Every single kind of debt. I don't owe visits, or " thank you" or "sorrys'.

This is hardly the case for many people.

There are people in my contacts who can't even think about calling me for help. They've overspent their welcome and they know it.

What puzzles me is how often they get into debt. I think people who get in debt so often are trying extra hard to live above their means.

The year I got in debt often, I was buying and living above my means. I was spending on a business that wasn't giving me proper profits. I was trying to make people think I had everything under control when I didn't. I had to stop. That wasn't me.

Living debt-free is satisfying. And the only reason I'm in debt right now is coz I need to live slightly above my means. And what's crazy is, I didn't necessarily have to be in debt. I'm just extra prudent with money kept for different purposes.

What do you think? Is getting in debt always about living above your means? Or am I pushing it too far?


Check out my Freelance Gigs

You can contact me:

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Sort:  

I hate the idea of debt and I do what I can to be debt-free at all times. In some contexts, some people say that it makes sense to be in debt, but I can't have peace of mind if I do it.

I have many friends who are buying houses that will put them at least 10 years in debt, but it could be as high as 30 years. It's important to them to own their own house so they just do it but that doesn't work for me. I'll always do my best to avoid debt

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

As long as it can be avoided, it should.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

You are right by saying debt is part of our lives, we see de confort on paying $29.99 monthly for something that cost $1.000, because if gives us a easy and less hard way to have it.

In other side, that you said about asking for favors, I feel you, i dont like to debt something to someone, thats why i normally i don't ask for favors and i do it on my own. The exception is with my real close friends, that i know whe help each others because we really want to and is not for "debt"

For the moments I'm living debt-free jajaj

This is one thing I avoid so much owing debt to my friend, I would rather find a way or forfeit whatever I need the money for.
I would rather buy stuff and pay bit by bit than owing a friend.
Though lending money to close friends have ended some friendship trust. Because sometimes your friend end up coming short or not paying back.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Debt ruins relationships. I don't even buy a thing unless I have the money to pay completely.

Exactly. With close friends, it's different. The relationship permits it.

I hate owing, I hate being in the position where I’ll have to be in debt for any reason, it’s deep for me,...but I have that friend that feels spend it all now is the way of life, very annoying,...he spends it all now, gets into debt, then start hustling his way out...rinse and repeat....like I don’t know how someone will willingly want to be in those positions....crazy

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

It's like giving your freedom out to other people. Im a control freak. I have to control myself first, can't sell myself short like that.

I won't say debt is all about pushing it too far. I believe one reason why we all fall into debt is because we don't have what we need at that certain period, but I would like us to take a look in this direction.."what if you have everything you need and there is no reason for you to be in debt". You will see that you don't have much to worry about or debt to pay because you can afford all you need.
However in this life human need are insatiable so we tend to satisfy our ego by all means or meet up to status in the society to feel among or recognized, so the quest to fulfill all this makes us fall into debt ie we tend to live above our means.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Sometimes people want what they can't afford and they want it immediately. That's when they get in debt and make silly mistakes.

Yes understand, but calculation and plans matter, no reasonable person with get involved into something he or she is not ready to face.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Hi young-boss-karin,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiehive.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Living debt free is something very few people can do, even the rich have massive amounts of debt they just have better ways to service it then using their own labour like we do

I think moving to an equity based world is ofcoruse better since you only consume what you create so you can’t take more of the pot then what you put in, in the first place but it’s going to be a long road to get there

Especially with inflation being so high you are punished for not going into debt it’s a tough pill to swallow I do daily so I know how painful it is

Certain debt can't be avoided though. Especially in countries where they offer college loans, you're dragged into these debts. There's also housing loans and others. I get that. These are unavoidable to enlarge extent.

The point is debt that can be avoided should be avoided at all cost.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Anything that I can'tpay in full for doesn't exist in my universe. Simple as that

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta