#BeerSaturday - Bone-Shaking Sol Juice

in LeoFinance2 months ago


zHops1.jpg

348 weeks waving the #beer flag on the #blockchain and I am back again to showcase some of the bounty of craft beer we have in my region!

Being The Blockchain Beerologist definitely has its perks, including but not limited to getting paid to tour breweries and sample new beers! When I am not globetrotting or brewing my own beer, my fridge looks like a colorful mosaic of regional craft beer I enjoy sharing with the #beersaturday alliance of #beer bloggers on #hive.

This week, I am teasing our next brewing adventure while revisiting an old friend, then meeting a new one from back home.

 "image.png"

Pint of the Week


IMG_0731.JPG

The pint of the week is usually one I have on the town or in a social situation for fun. This one is pretty special because it is a delicious amber brewed by a friend with a fantastic brewery operation in the garage. I will save the story of our brewing adventure with IPA involved for #BeerSaturday 350

 "image.png"

Boneshaker


IMG_0690.JPG

Amsterdam Brewery was one of the first microbreweries that rescued me from the mass produced beer as I fell in love with their Nut Brown ale and Raspberry Wheat among others. They lead the way for what became the Craft Beer revolution in these parts and still do so today. I believe they have been lapped multiple times in the competitive IPA area with so many breweries developing a big hop game. Still, I love returning to the classics to see if they have progressed or my palate has evolved to appreciate their beer even more.
IMG_0691.JPG

Boneshaker IPA was one of the original hoppy ass obnoxious IPAs that would make any watery ale purist permanently swear off IPAs. Sometimes, you visit a bar and this is the only IPA they have so it is an easy choice then. Otherwise, I pick it up so that I don't get tired of my standard favourites, and I wonder how much more resistant to hops I have become. Not only that, but my giant skull mug wants some of its namesake from time to time.

Solid as usual and as bitter and beautiful as it has always been.

 "image.png"

Skeleton Park


IMG_0724.JPG

There are a few craft breweries in the town I grew up in and I was pleased to discover another one by visiting the shelves in the beer section this week. Skeleton Park Brewery appears to be in the township while any self respecting Kingstonian would know that Skeleton Park is downtown. Close enough otherwise and right between Spearhead and Trailhead breweries which are each legit.

IMG_0723.JPG

As the first beer I am tasting as my discovery of Skeleton Park, Sol Juice IPA is described as "Dry as a bone and juicy as all get-out" so you have my attention! Dry hopped later on and there is not much chance I wont enjoy this beer. Often, when I taste a new IPA from a newer brewery, it is good but not great. A nice try but perhaps needs a couple years to get its legs, style and consistency. This one tastes almost like it is made by good brewers who cut their teeth at other good breweries, and struck out on their own with a solid, proven recipe.

This was a good beer and I really need to give it another shot as a legit, core IPA to compare it to dozens of others I love from this province. I will try this again!

 "image.png"

#BEERSaturday!




428702487_1120738919180708_2846854866921261017_n.jpg

These hosers just made the world's largest beer float at https://thirdeyebrewingco.com/ with 9 liters of dark beer and 36 scoops of ice cream. Join me, @detlev , and the other beerologists and instantly become a beer blogger at this week's Beer Saturday gathering... https://hive.blog/hive-187719/@detlev/the-beersaturday-challenge-week-348

This week for #BeerSaturday, I am would like to invite @go-kyo who is from Japan, and I have had many beers there! Take a few pictures, tag #beersaturday and raise a glass with us on Hive!

Cheers to our global family of beer-drinkers!!

blockchainbeerologist2.png

 "text16.png"
 "zekepicklemanbeerologist.jpg"

 "gPCasciUWmF5VZucjWuzmpXUomGMznGBossDDhhbxsv4o487wdZdsb3ASXRMf62sjs1HUwqb5DTZ2Zui3ZaiztAHSSu6S3QkVTp6wDRybhjkQBzs6LKK5dFVjUtX1HiTiYRVNg7aDm8JmQFBDq.png"

Link the newest Craft Brewery where you are!

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  

I love the fact that each brand of your beer comes with a different beer cup. I think I need to start having different cups for different beer. It makes a memorable consumption.

Thanks for sharing
Cheers 🍻

For sure collecting different styles of bee glasses makes for more enjoyable sampling of new beers.

image.png

The fat floral beers are great in wine shaped glasses like the tulip and you really develop a preference for each beer. That or make a big collection for the cupboard because half of them are in the dish washer.

I'd actually advocate drinking Pilsen/Bohemian lager from a beer mug, it would be the most traditional and common way here. They used to be a real mugs rather than glasses, like this one from my #beersaturday stop in the Brewery House, Fürth, Germany.

All would go well on the hot summer days 🍺

Beer is good every day but definitely special in the summer. I might find some lighter beers in the warm season but look for the hoppy session ales. Ah summer…

That's a big beer float! I wonder if it would actually taste good? Looks delicious 😋

Ya! Beer and ice cream are individually delicious but I wonder whether or not they should go together. Hopefully not a waste of beer!

Haha yeah. I tried it once with guiness and it wasn't good. That was a really long time ago and I didn't follow a recipe or anything, just added ice cream to the beer. It was a waste of beer that day lol

Thank you! I'm not usually much of a drinker (not that I can't drink), but now that you've invited me, I'll join you next Saturday😃
I always envied you when I saw people drinking beer with such relish. I want to start with Japanese beers that look good for beginners.

Surprised at the size of the glass in the last photo, but looks like fun🤣

Maybe enjoy one every now and then. I enjoyed Kirin when I was in Osaka and the fact you can buy beer from vending machines on the streets!

Ice cream and beer?? Motherfuckers will find a way to ruin anything.

!BEER

Ain't that the truth! I won't knock it til I try it but white people gotta screw with everything!

Can you drink about three different beers at the same time?
It makes me hangover though

Imagine having this chill drink during the hot season

I am so sure this beer will definitely taste so great


Hey @zekepickleman, here is a little bit of BEER from @davedickeyyall for you. Enjoy it!

Did you know that <a href='https://dcity.io/cityyou can use BEER at dCity game to buy cards to rule the world.