#BeerSaturday - The Good, the Bad, the Ugly

in LeoFinance3 months ago


zHops1.jpg

346 weeks celebrating that blessed beverage we know as #beer on the #blockchain makes me think we are contributing to it being the worlds most popular beverage!

Being The Blockchain Beerologist definitely has its perks, including but not limited to getting paid to tour breweries and sample new beers! When I am not globetrotting and chugging pints, my fridge looks like a colorful mosaic of regional craft beer I enjoy sharing with the #beersaturday alliance of #beer bloggers on #hive.

You guys must know by now that I often pass by good beers on the shelf in favour of new beers to share for #beersaturday. I like to stay positive and mainly feature the good ones but what happens with the others? Read on!

 "image.png"

Pint of the Week


IMG_0685.JPG

The pint of the week is usually one I have on the town or in a social situation for fun. Definitely the case here as I am enjoying a pale ale from one of the local breweries. I am not thrilled by their offering or the reception I received when I set a time to discovery the brewery and help out, so I won't tag them but will support them as they are local. This one was neat as it is a Pale Ale with Earl Grey tea in the brew. Sounds goofy but just a hint of the tea blends subtly with the mild hops and it was quite nice!

The setting is neat too as this is The Bunker Performance Lounge during the hosting of a the first podcast of a brand new music festival. Some friends are responsible for running this in the spirit of promoting and fostering local and regional music so you will most likely hear more about this as things progress.

 "image.png"

The Good!


IMG_0508.JPG

What would make me stray from my IPA obsession into a light lager from a brewery I have never heard of before and a label illustrations that looks like I designed it with MS Paint? Adventures in #beerology of course! Mascot Brewery is new to me and is part of a black-owned collaboration, which is neat to discover after the fact. Let's not get too excited until we get into the beer itself.

IMG_0509.JPG

Light lager is not my thing. 4.0% ABV filtered clear is not my thing. Happy to have it if someone is offering but most likely not my choice when there is any kinda variety. The link for Light Weight Light Lager says IPA but has the goods. Turns out, I think this is a damn fine beer! Malty enough to have a solid taste and a touch of sweetness almost makes it taste like a cream ale! I was prepare for a pissy watery but hopefully smooth beer at best. Definitely as nice surprise and I will grab this again, and have my better half taste it.

beerologistapproved.png
Mascot gets my coveted seal of approval for a light beer that packs a solid and delectable taste! I will buy this again.

 "image.png"

The Bad


IMG_0573.JPG

Why is it that I constantly buy the latest White Water Brewing Co. offering no matter how many time I have not particularly enjoyed the last. IPA after underwhelming IPA, one after the other for years now. I figured that perhaps IPA was maybe not their thing or they are trying to out hipster the hipsters by making a totally different version of good. Who knows? Eventually every brewery settles into their game and becomes good at even IPAs, which are much easier than light lagers to hide any imperfections. Will this be the one?

IMG_0574.JPG

I can't even find High Tide NEIPA on the website but I am definitely a fan of New England IPAs for their balance of sweet and hoppy. I can't even remember the last NEIPA I met that I didn't enjoy. Though juicy may be a popular description of a good IPA, the close you look at this can, the more you see off-putting words like pillowy, and IBU 10. This is another solid MEH of a beer from these guys and I am starting to feel like Charlie Brown missing the ball every damn time.

image.png

This time, I actually paused to see if there was an element I didn't like, or hop flavour that wasn't quite right for me. When I thought hard about it, I was simply left with a dryness that wasn't crisp, an earthiness that tasted like shit, and a thin hop body that petered out. It is possible that they are just not my cup of tea but it might be more possible that they should steer away from IPAs or stop using that Ottawa river water. Feel free to ridicule me next time I pick up a White Water beer.

 "image.png"

The The Ugly


IMG_0566.JPG

Sarnia is not too long a drive from where I am but I can't remember the last beer I had from Imperial City Brewing. A new beer from a brewery just down the road and it is an IPA? I am IN for at least 1.

IMG_0567.JPG

I like a good tropical IPA and don't even mind when they add fruit to it as long as it is done subtly and does not take over the beer. So, this one looks like a sure thing. The only sure thing is that this tastes more like you licked your hand after applying sunscreen! The mango seems to take a back seat to a battling overindulgence of coconut and vanilla that leaves you begging for some obnoxious hops to wash away the aftertaste. Sometimes, the first sip of a beer tastes off as it mixes with whatever you have on your palate which needs to be rinsed away. Often the next few sips get better and you are used to the taste, and come to even enjoy it. Not this beer. Grab a cheap beer and chew on an airfreshener for a better experience. Just plain ugly.
 "image.png"

#BEERSaturday!




428634007_901516295313740_3233765293748532967_n.jpg

I wonder when I will have graduated to the final beer boss. Join me, @detlev , and the other beerologists and instantly become a beer blogger at this week's Beer Saturday gathering... https://hive.blog/hive-187719/@detlev/beersaturday-346

This week for #BeerSaturday, I am would like to invite new friend @wiseagent who is a prolific @inleo poster who might like the Premium subscription for his efforts and more rewards. Take a few pictures, tag #beersaturday and raise a glass with us on Hive!

Cheers to our global family of beer-drinkers!!

blockchainbeerologist2.png

 "text16.png"
 "zekepicklemanbeerologist.jpg"

 "gPCasciUWmF5VZucjWuzmpXUomGMznGBossDDhhbxsv4o487wdZdsb3ASXRMf62sjs1HUwqb5DTZ2Zui3ZaiztAHSSu6S3QkVTp6wDRybhjkQBzs6LKK5dFVjUtX1HiTiYRVNg7aDm8JmQFBDq.png"

What's a bad beer you have had lately?

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  

Never tried tropical beer :)

They call them tropical up here because of the mango and other fruits added to them occasionally. A sweet strong beer with fruity notes sometimes gets loosely labeled as tropical as well.

tastes more like you licked your hand after applying sunscreen!

sounds delicious...
😂

They must have used extracts or something. It's rare for me to like a favored beer. Like you said, if they add fruit then it needs to be done subtlely for me to like it

Many of them that I have had lately are actually well balanced. When they are subtle with the additions, it can float on and blend with the hops so well you don’t know what is hop and what is fruit.

The tropical one is definitely not one of those. I had to choke that one down and wash it away with a better beer ;)

!PIMP !LOL !DHEDGE


You must be killin' it out here!
@geneeverett just slapped you with 1.000 PIMP, @zekepickleman.
You earned 1.000 PIMP for the strong hand.
They're getting a workout and slapped 1/2 possible people today.

pimp_logo


Read about some PIMP Shit or Look for the PIMP District

I'm in hospital because I drunk a cup of petrol.
That was a very fuelish thing to do.

Credit: reddit
@zekepickleman, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of geneeverett

(1/2)

PLAY & EARN $DOOM

bonding over beer with friends creates some long term friendships.
I am amazed by the variety and blends of beer that are available these days.

There is an absolutely astounding array of variety these days with so many craft breweries popping up all over the land. Still, beer brings us together which is why I love the beer of the week in a pub or with friends.

Thanks! Now you have me hankering for a hoppy favorite of mine.

Ghost in the Machine by Parish Brewery. Double India Pale Ale 8%

I cannot think of a bad beer i have had lately, because I have not had a beer lately.

Time to change that ;-)

Have a great day!

Ghost in the Machine huh?

By principal, I love a good double ipa for that extra kick and blast of hops. Some of them are a little overdone but I still enjoy them. Get you some ghost!

Got it! For today, my life is complete :-)

You’re trying to tempt me to take a drink right 😂. Nice work the arrangement looks good.
Bet most of these beers are more than 8%

Most of them are just above 6% and the light lager is only 4% which is surprising for how good it tastes.

I do tempt so blame it on me and have a !BEER

You bet I will😂


Hey @chapo112, here is a little bit of BEER from @zekepickleman for you. Enjoy it!

Do you want to win SOME BEER together with your friends and draw the BEERKING.

I am so sure they will really taste so great

Some people always claim to an extent that beer have some health effect. Is it true

Definitely true. Too much of a good thing is no longer good but I am trying to figure out exactly how many beers that is.

I think I’d only be interested in tasting the good, lol

everyone has different likes and dislikes

Definitely true. Many friends dislike the ipas I love so much. Most like a clean clear brew which I respect but I need a beer that tastes like 5 beers now ;)

1


This post has been selected for upvote from our token accounts by @geneeverett! Based on your tags you received upvotes from the following account(s):

- @dhedge.bonus
- @dhedge.leo

@geneeverett has 4 vote calls left today.

Hold 10 or more DHEDGE to unlock daily dividends. Hold 100 or more DHEDGE to unlock thread votes. Calling in our curation accounts currently has a minimum holding requirement of 100 DHEDGE. The more DHEDGE you hold, the higher upvote you can call in. Buy DHEDGE on Tribaldex or earn some daily by joining one of our many delegation pools at app.dhedge.cc.