You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Pushing air

in Planetauto3 years ago

I'm not a huge fan of that foam stuff although it does the job, as does that goo they pump into tyres to get a few extra miles out of them when flat - Many sports cars come with it as there's no room for a spare tyre. I prefer a spare, but then I'm an off-roader so it's not surprising.

You gave me an idea though, a post about plugging a tyre. I might get one done. :)

Sort:  

This company used some kind of propriety foam product and it worked really good on low speed high load tires. As I recall it was around $250 per tire in the '90s. Not even remotely cheap.

You mentioned using Nitrogen. For years I have used 76% Nitrogen in my tires. Normal air :) I had a friend that was a specialty machinist for Goodyear in Akron, Ohio. He told me that the tires/wheels for Craig Breedlove's LSR car had wheels and tires that were solid. He machined the tires to spec on the wheels. I guess that works at over 750 mph.

I've plugged maybe 10 motorcycle tires over the years. I had one that was almost brand new (I'd ridden from here to central Texas on it) and I put better than 12,000 miles on that plug. You can buy everything you need to have fresh plugs at WalMart. Cheap.

I've got an ARB plug kit which hasn't failed me. Used it three times and one of the plugs stayed in the tyre for about 20,000km until the set of tyres was eventually replaced. Got me out of a pine forest north of here where the tyre was staked. Good things those plugs.

Just on the nitrogen thing...I used to use it on a couple performance cars I had but to be honest it's not worth the effort. Good old fashioned air works fine. 😁

I want a car that does 750mph. Not sure who Breedlove is but will look him up in the morning at work when I'm getting paid for it. 🤣

It was called "Spirit of America" and rocket powered. Way cool stuff, about 45 0r 50 years ago.

Ah ok, I know it now, Spirit of America. Would be cool to drive that fast. A but scary though. We had one called Bluebird which took the LSR in 1964 at 403.1mph. gas turbine powered. It happened here in my State, a place called Lake Eyre. Salt lakes.

I remember the BlueBird! I was 13 years old and it seemed there was a really serious attempt at the LSR every year. I was just crazy with it.

Yep, happened right here. I wasn't born for another six years though. Pretty cool stuff. I've been to Lake Eyre - Middle of nowhere. I we thereto see it in flood which is rare. It's usually dry salt lake. Ah yeah, that was a good trip. So long ago now, 2002. Damn time flies.

Bonneville Salt Flats generally gets enough rain that it fills up over the winter to a depth of a couple of inches. Then it dries out flat and fresh for the racing season. Cars in the first half of September, Bikes in the second half.

The LSR guys (I mean the real LSR guys) have a longer season by appointment. Speaking of which I have a good friend that held the LSR for 1 liter streamlined motorcycle. Naturally aspirated, turbocharged, naturally aspirated fuel and turbocharged fuel. At the same time. He built the bike and his partner built the motors. McBride was the smaller of the two so he got to drive :)

Yep, I've heard of that place...Would be cool to go there in-season and see some attempts.

P.s. Those dudes on the bikes are nuts! Lol.