Born In The Wrong Era (Love For Vintage Cars)

in Planetauto3 years ago (edited)

I'm always so enraptured whenever I see old automobiles, that it makes me feel like I was born in the wrong era. Although these might be just average vintage cars, I adore them because they're so full of character.

received_275712334159910.jpeg

So much style!
I think the outstanding higher level of workmanship in the olden days is undeniable, and so much pride must have been taken into ensuring broad appeal.

received_765054560676296.jpeg

received_3465259233575442.jpeg

received_144952300889754.jpeg


I was preparing lunch for the skipper and myself, when I looked up and first spotted the VW Beetle.
Luckily, going at the slow and calm pace of our narrowboat, gave me the chance to quickly rinse my hands and grab a hold of my camera. I hurriedly snapped these photos as we cruised slowly around a corner along the Oxford Canal.

received_282398883476503.jpeg
received_204019411136121.jpeg

received_1285640258499865.jpeg

received_266897278465567.jpeg

received_2597151740587765.jpeg


I'm not sure where this keen interest of mine developed, but I can still remember when I was a little girl growing up in Jamaica, an obvious tomboy, with my t-shirt wrapped around my neck exposing my bare flat chest; I'd be the handy-girl for my uncles and my dad and I'd hear:

Pass me the spanner,
Pass me the wrench,
Pass me the chamois ...

My dad and one of my uncles had a thing for Ford Cortinas.
My dad had a blue one, then a red one and my uncle had a white one. Every morning my dad would religiously wake up and check the engine, the oil, wash the car, and polish it. He'd make tremendous efforts to maintain his cars and often times he experienced overheating.

I on-the-other-hand got a secret high from the smell of hot engines, so in my mind I'd do a happy dance knowing that as soon as he wasn't looking I could take a few sniffs of the hot engine🤣. My mum observed my little habit and I had to start looking over my shoulder for her as well... the good ole days!!!


Camper Vans

received_285255643125945.jpeg

received_298914881619447.jpeg

Who would have thought that camper vans would still be desirable in the twenty-first century?
I think that old automobiles have a historical significance with the UK, and although Camper Vans were not invented here, I still believe they're symbolic of bygone days in the Uk, and will forever hold that hippie, nomadic energy which they carry.

received_938945256907485.jpeg


received_557086945692905.jpeg

I was pleased that I managed to capture something which I can only imagine I'll see more of along the canals in the UK.
After all, the UK has a long history in both the making, innovation, and restoring of old cars, and I believe the canals will probably have many junkyards along the way.

I love a beetle!
The old classic design is awesome, don't you think?
Have you ever owned a beetle?

Just another day of my life chugging along canals across the Uk.
You never know what's around the corner.
Sometimes I see things and I'm just not prepared or preoccupied doing something else.
I always remind myself not to sweat it. Something fascinating will come up.

Sort:  

Awesome pics. Awesome story. Awesome post.
Those cars look even cooler with the rust and overgrown foliage around them. Makes you wonder what kind of life they had before they ended up there...

Thank you so much 😍 for your kind feedback!
You're so right. When I see those cars, my mind reflects on so many different things and I wish I could have heard a story or a little history of previous owners, or anything...
These are the little things that make me smile :)

You're welcome. You took some nice photos, especially to say you were shooting on the move(Granted, you probably weren't moving too fast though).

Thank you!! Would have been better if I was static, but was still pleased. Glad you like them too :)

Hi @millycf1976,
Thank you for participating in the #teamuk curated tag. We have upvoted your quality content.
For more information visit our discord https://discord.gg/8CVx2Am

Thank you for your support :)

Awsm photography 😍😍

Thank you 😊

Thank you for sharing such wonderous sights, the coach building of that era, meant some very beautiful lines, and of course there was no emissions challenges, meaning they sounded the part too. Now we've never owned a Beetle, but we'd love an early one, such a simple design with Wolfsburg motifs about it.
We currently own a Mk2 Golf GTI 3 door in Helios blue and C124 Mercedes as our classics, please keep sharing your automotive adventures and stories too, we really do appreciate it.

Hello @planetauto
Thank you so much for your warm welcome and lovely feedback. I'm glad I found your community 😊
Those two classics of your are awesome cars that has stood the test of time and will always stand out.😎
I was a day late in purchasing a 1969 MG Midget a few years ago, as I just love the quirky look of those cars...maybe someday :)
Wishing you a lovely day!🤗

Wow @millycf1976, sorry to hear that you missed out - and by a day! (groan) We are sure another one will come along for you...
Thank you for contributing - it was great to read about such vehicles, and your love and enthusiam for them just shines through.

Please come back anytime! ;)

thank you 😊 🙏

I did own a beetle! I wanted a few if the cars in the photos growing up as well.

Wow! I bet you loved your beetle :)
I think the orange was the most popular colour in Jamaica, back when I was a child. What colour was yours?
I think cars were something special then.