Landrover Diaries: When You Can't Go Anywhere, But Desperately Need To

in Planetauto3 years ago

There's nothing like having a car that is meant to give you freedom, whilst living in a country that has shut down your freedoms.

It's hard to complain, because we're meant to be grateful we're 'not like India'. We're meant to be grateful that our hallowed State government is taking care of us. We're meant to be grateful that our government Knows What Is Best for the people. We are meant to be grateful that people aren't dying of COVID, although it's okay that they die from other things, like heart disease, cancer, domestic violence, poverty, police brutality or suicide in detention centres.

Buttercup's roofrack has been regalvanised and painted black.


Did I digress? Sorry. I'm clearly feeling bitter and outraged that we aren't allowed to cross state borders and travel this 'free' country, as touted in our national anthem. Currently, we can't go to South Australia, where we had planned to go, because every Victorian goes to Bali and Queensland for their winter holidays, and failing that, at least New South Wales. Exactly why we don't want to go to New South Wales - because every man, woman, child and their dogs and cats are going North, and we like to go against the tide, preferring to shiver on a South Australian beach, as is our right as Australians 'young and free' (see National Anthem again).

We bought a new 270 awning, so we can cook under shelter


We did think about going to Tassie. Then we slapped ourselves, because it's more cold than a fishfinger stuck in the back of the freezer at this time of the year, and we have failed to order a cheap Chinese diesel heater in time for the school holidays. Then there is the rest of this beautiful state we live in, of course. But if someone says 'it's nice to finally have opportunity to see our own backyard' one more time, I'll scream.

And so, we continue to work on Buttercup so she's ready for an adventure that might only be just down the road a ways. The roofrack has been modified, and we've bought a lovely new 270 degree awning that came up second hand on Gumtree. The 12V battery has been charged ready to go, though we were wishing we had got that lithium one we were going to (next time). It also has a refurbished SU carburettor, so it actually goes up hills at 60kmph instead of 40kmph, and can even overtake tractors.



My husband's ass Installing the New Carburettor

Meanwhile, I keep refreshing the news to see if the Powers That Be have opened up those borders yet. Those 'boundless plains' of the national anthem are calling, and we are super restless.

How are your restrictions working out for you? Are you grinning and bearing it, or going a little stir crazy? Have you got a road trip planned?

With Love,

image.png

Are you on HIVE yet? Earn for writing! Referral link for FREE account here


imageedit_1_5780380867.png

You can read our other Landrover posts by clicking on any of the links below. Follow us on Instagram @wildtrackdreaming

Landrover Club Meet Up Victoria
Sunday Driving in The Great Otways Park
In Which We Buy A Series 2 and a S3 Military
RedNeck in the Australian Bush: A Landover Horror Story
Buying the 130
Landrover Camper Improvements
Progress on Series 3
Series 3 Restoration Complete
Nut and Bolt Restoration Ending - Series 3
How to Trick Your Wife Into a New Landrover
Series 3 Build Progress
Starting the Rebuild
70th Anniversary at Cooma

Sort:  

Nice images of the car...G-Dog zooms in on the bacon and eggs and coffee. Lol.


I consulted the Oracle [myself] and I see a northern adventure on the horizon for you...Warmer weather, tropical beaches, palm trees, crocodiles...

How did you know????

I'm even more excited than I was when I told you yesterday

How did you know?

A little fairy rivvy told me. Lol.

It'll be a good break for sure and I figure you really need it. The oracle told me.

We are doing Road trips every weekend ... got 4 kayaks on the roof and visiting every lake river and stream here in Algonquin Park.

D1EF74D8-7580-4457-A267-EE9903A24A69.jpeg

How awesome... so glad at least someone's getting away!

Shivering sounds good to me! Haha. And your husband does have a fine arse! 🤣

Hahah, he sure does!!!

European borders are closed for non-tested or non-vaccinated , even do some borders are easy to cross unseen , patrols will check you inland and in the city's , having something with a foreign licence-plate attracts attention . It's all very "exotic" to me .
I have a funny feeling that if we wait some more , we will get more freedom then we can handle ,.. ;-)


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Waiting, waiting, waiting...

untitled.gif

Yeah , you wait , ... but please give some respect to grandma who's charging the police-front for OUR FREEDOM ! ... with just her umbrella .
20210119_075404.gif
Gif taken from last February protest's against the lockdown madness .
Maybe instead of waiting ,... write more protest post's or witness post's that work towards the change we want ,.. or at least to preserve this period in time on the blockchain for future interested to see .

I am not judging you here , this is also a reminder to myself . I was active in my protest some months ago . Went to some protests and didn't like what i saw ,... on both sides . There are staged elements among the protesters that i think are government controlled .

There is clear evidence that ytube and other platforms canceled channels in direct order from the Dutch democratic government . Like a channel that has over 60 witness accounts from cops and protesters that do not comply to the driven narrative . https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCzBTOlq2SlV4TFYV1aaAuow
It needed a lawyer to get online again .

Oh' and the Dutch opposition is diminished to almost a one man show . A man where i as Anarchist weirdly would vote for at this moment in time . He dragged BBB , agenda-21 , Klaus Swab , Gretha and Sorros direct in to debate and showed it's stupidity .


I hope translation works for you , ... something to do while waiting . ;-)

Sounds restrictive? Hope you both can enjoy it all despite the weather with some campfires and still make the best of it? India wasn't that bad and i guess it really depends on where you are and who you know in order to have a great time there. Been trying to learn to deviate from given options and rather than learning to accept, i am trying to explore new activities. Although i must say, i can relate to having to compromise. Your camper looks amazing by the way. To many new and different adventures ahead!

It is darn restrictive, and really irritating my 'desire for freedom' nerve. I'd love to go back to India so badly. Hope life is okay for you

I'm clearly feeling bitter and outraged that we aren't allowed to cross state borders and travel this 'free' country

I hear you.
All these restrictions make me feel like I'm trapped or I'm in a communist country lol

Easy breakfast there, neat!

It is probably because we DO live in communist countries ;) I wonder if the citizens of the USSR had more freedom than we do now? I live in the USA, Pennsylvania things are starting to look better but I'm not holding my breath, haha


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Truth! Just under the illusion of democracy lol. The thought of not being able to go out of the country or even move around is pretty scary. There's this nagging need to escape!

Totally under an illusion of democracy. Yet we're told to feel 'lucky'.

Yeah they go on about the draconian laws of other countries whilst they limit our freedoms just as badly in many ways!

HI River. I'm so sorry. I understand. You have cabin fever. I sympathize. Well our "government" which is really just a shit show of corrupt mobsters are doing what they do best here and breaking the law. It was recently found in the Constitutional Court that the lockdowns in this country were unconstitutional, yet tonight at 8pm or sometime thereafter because he's ALWAYS late to address the people - he's probably going to try to instate a tighter lockdown across the country.

Every time I read mainstream media headlines, I get pain in my forehead - mostly from frowning and rolling my eyes.

At this point in time I wish we had a landy that we could pack up and just go somewhere completely in the middle of nowhere and hide this shit show out. It's getting old really fast and starting to fray my fragile nerves.

Hope you guys can find somewhere even if it is as cold as a frozen fishfinger. Stay away from the masses, shit is just weird out there at the moment.

A shit show of corrupt mobsters - pretty much every government in teh world bar New Zealand I reckon. Stay away from those headlines and save your face! It makes me angry too and my nerves are shot as well. We've just booked a holiday to Queensland anyway because if I dont get some kind of holiday I'm going to go more nuts than I already am!

Thank you, @riverflows, for sharing your post!

So sorry that the cabin fever is so bad - please keep going, we'll get there!

Annabelle.

Thanks Annabelle - we've just booked a trip to Queensland, sans car - the border thing was getting us down so much we gave up!

Nice car to roll out on a road trip and feels comfortable.... activities is a bit normal in my area with a little safety measures.
No time for a road trip though but do have fun out there.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

I'm glad youa re getting out and about. Where do you live? Our restrictions are ridiculous.

I was planning to travel to Margarita Island and well, Bam! the covid made us stay at home, I love your car, it must be wonderful to wake up and make coffee and while you drink it hot you look at the horizon and forget the world for a moment. Greetings

Oh where's Margarita Island? Oh we love it too, it is super nice to wake up and see a million dollar view from the back of your house on wheels!

Hey @riverflow
First of all, thank you for sharing your post with the group. It is certainly an eye-opener, comparing where I live to others.
The rules over here are slightly tightening up, we have been given a holiday, to deal with the new spike in the covid numbers. But to be honest, it hasn't been too bad here, if I wanted to, I could drive to the other side of Russia with no issues. I know my British family are only just getting their freedom back (but for how long?)
I must say I love your Landies, my mums other half had a few 90's. I do miss helping him repair it. I could really do with a fry up now. Take care, keep strong we will all get there in the end.

Matt

Hey @mattsbeamer (love your user name by the way). So you're in Russia? One day I want to drive overland across Russia and MOngolia - fingers crossed we'll do it in our 130 Defender. I love the '90's, they're pretty cute - I like the old Series 88's as well, but the short wheel bases aren't as practical for camping in my opinion.

Oh yeah, the good old fry up. My hubby's British, so if I say, 'want a fry up', he says something like: 'Does a bear shit in the woods' and turns the cooker on faster than you could believe. Fried potatoes and bacon make him pretty happy!

It also has a refurbished SU carburettor, so it actually goes up hills at 60kmph instead of 40kmph, and can even overtake tractors.

Hah! This things can literally plow a field, so no worries.

You know, I've got enough of bureaucrats telling me what to do. Can you believe they've shut down the beach where I live? So I was two months into a freaking routine of sitting down to heal my leg, and there's this beautiful sunny Saturday outside. I just said "fuck it" and grabbed my crutches and went to the beach. Over the blocking dune I went. Luckly nobody came to annoy me, because I was ready for a discussion.