Natural Products Censorship

in FreeSpeech2 years ago

When we think of censorship, we tend to think of politics, vaxx information, criticism of the government, cannabis etc... big picture things to contain and control the masses, basically. But I want to tell you my recent entrepreneurial story to show how much more insidious censorship really is, and how it limits, confines and controls us in ways we often aren't even aware of.

Because you can't know what you're not allowed to see.

I have been running my Thai natural herbal products business, Pure Thai Natural Co Ltd here in Thailand since 2007. What do we do??

We have a sustainable, family-owned, social enterprise business making traditional health, wellness & bodycare products; we train displaced indigenous and ethnic Karen people along the Thai Burmese border to organically grow the herbal inputs we need, then we make products in the old-style, slo-mo way, which we export around the world. We've been doing that for 16 years now, and we're increasingly focused on sustainable employment for unskilled, non-English speakers and creating healthy lifestyle products for a global community which views purchasing as being not only about cost & the product's specific benefits, but about environmental and broader social impacts.

Since Covid, the drop in taxation revenue for Thailand and due to an increasing insistence on accountability from international trade partners, the Thai government has updated the licensing requirements for the kinds of products we make. And as we're completing a re-licensing process in our NEW and bigger production facility, we've become VERY aware of some changes & censorship issues NO ONE IS TALKING ABOUT.

You see, the new licensing rules have LIMITS on actual words we're no longer allowed to use! At all. Ever. Even if we have clinical data to prove that it's a factual descriptor.

CensoredHerbal2.png

And since we started our re-licensing, we suddenly that we found THIS message in the admin notices of our online store last week:

CensorshipHerbal.png

After following up with Google and then cross-checking the 58 pages of Thai language rules that have been updated and appended to the online re-licensing process with the Thai FDA, I discovered our "policy violation" is because of outrageous WORDS (truths, actually - clinically proven, published & peer reviewed studies easily available and often quoted on our social media to support any and all claims we make) that we have used in product descriptions.

What terrible words have I been using that are considered a "misrepresentation"? Healing (as in our Thai Traditional Healing Balm), anti-inflammatory (as in phlai & neem), anti-bacterial (as in neem & wan sao long) and the outrageous "increase blood circulation" as in one of the benefits of regular body scrubbing.

Further examination and clarification of the updated Thai FDA rules has yielded a LIST of words I am expressly and specifically NOT allowed to use on ANY packaging or in the online store or point of sale product descriptions for ANY products we produce that are classified & licensed as either "cosmetic" or "herbal product":

  • Cure
  • Healing
  • Medicated
  • Therapeutic
  • Anti-inflammation
  • Anti-inflam
  • Itching relieve
  • Pain relieve
  • Remedy
  • Antiseptic
  • Disinfectant
  • Kill germ
  • Bacteria
  • Virus
  • Fungi
  • Kill microorganisms
  • Stimulate hair growth
  • Stop hair fall
  • Pigment reducing
  • Inhibit enzyme
  • Increase blood circulation
  • Slender/Remodeler/Shaper/Slimming
  • Scar erase
  • Scar treatment

These specific words/terms are now expressly and ONLY allowed to be used by registered pharmaceutical products.

What does it mean for us??

An expensive packaging upgrade, at a time in the post-Covid economy when we can least afford it. But we've started, and I'm pretty pleased with what I've achieved already in a couple of weeks from my Covid sick bed.

FaceScrubStickersNew.jpg

BodyScrubStickersNew.jpg

FaceMaskStickersNew.jpg

As frustrated and irritated as I am about the ramifications for us personally, I'm CONCERNED about what these restrictions mean in terms of limiting choice for consumers at the point of sale.

In a world of 20 second attention spans, censored social media and not being able to use clinical data links on platforms like Instagram, we're now having to EXPLAIN herbal vs chemical. And that's a complex task!

As consumers, we are being given LESS and LESS information to make important purchasing choices!

What could be more important than knowing what you're putting on your body and the effects it has, when you're in the store considering which product to choose? Consumers are being required to personally develop a HUGE knowledge base, so we can understand toxic chemical fragrance effects, natural substances that help us remain well and a thousand other nuanced, complex ingredient issues.

As entrepreneurial business owners, we are required to put more and more time and resources into long form advertorial to explain our products, at a not insubstantial cost. Yup, I'm needing to start my Natural Impact Podcast like YESTERDAY. But we're only able to give some of these complex messages in long form, which are increasingly NOT accessed by the majority of consumers. Plus I'm not sure if a TikTok about how neem is a clinically proven antibacterial agent is really gonna go viral (pun intended!) or be an easily shared piece of infotainment.

This week, I have to explain to our customers and supporters WHY we're seemingly frivolously and wastefully (for a sustainable products company) reprinting and repackaging. Sigh This post is a beginning point in providing a reference point to easily share on social media, and in response to any complaints.

I want a world where we have MORE information at point of sale, not less!!

I want a world where consumers are easily informed and don't need to spend 15 hours online researching before they choose a natural face mask.

I want a world where the provenance of a product is easily tracked.

I want a world where governments have less say about the words we're allowed to use - whether that be in a product description in my online store, or in an online article or on a product pack.

And somedays I simply wonder. I think most consumers have NO IDEA what producers of their products are allowed to say, or not. This is a big part of the censorship discussion that often gets overlooked.

I personally believe that the most radical and political act any of us can make, is how we spend our money. Each dollar-baht-peso we spend is literally a vote for the kind of world our children will need to live in. To me, restricting product information is a bit like limiting the information we're allowed to know about a potential political representative. We wouldn't tolerate this in the political sphere, would we? So why is it insidiously driving commerce on all levels??

You can't know what you're not allowed to see.

@riverflows - was so torn about where to post this - perhaps @theherbalhive might reblog this for me?? 🌿😘




HiveOnBoard1.gif

Get Your FREE Hive Account



Fair Trade, Sustainable, Cruelty Free. Shipping Worldwide..png

Come check out my Pure Thai Naturals online store

TwitterTiny100x100.png
Find me on Twitter: Pure Thai Naturals @BreugelMarike & @HiveLift

Sort:  

Absolutely outrageous... and I'm not surprised at all. Thank you for making me aware of these developments. 🙏

!hivebits
!PIZZA
!LUV

Pizza, Hivebits & Luv?? That all helps. x

Sadly I'm no longer surprised either, and that, of itself is a problem! We EXPECT to have our freedoms curtailed and we're getting more and more complacent about these "little things" which are, in fact, very big things!

Oh, they are HUGE things... and I couldn't agree more about the general complacency, which has been pumped full of steroids over the last two years. We're in some trouble. The more I talk about it, the less people seem to care to listen.

Hi There!
I know "exactly" what you mean, though not from a Thai legal point of view...
I "used" to make and sell "Orgone Generators", and like You when I got to a point where I was up and running (You've gotten a bit further along) - "Wham"!
I also got bit by "wording"...🤔😱😨
Google sent Me a letter and Shut me down, eBay followed suit...
Some "guy" copy writed most of what I had written on my website and ebay, and he was letting people know I had infringed on his copy write...
I re-worded everything.. putted along a few more months and just ended it..
I am glad You are bouncing back!
Have an Amazing Mid-Week!
🙋🏻‍♀️👍🏼🌄👍🏼🙋🏻‍♀️

Ah yes @lesmann - ozone generators, red light, colloidal silver & colloidal copper - such insidious, "dangerous" things! LOL. Meanwhile it's FINE to buy US made red M&M's with carcinogenic food colourings, and we can happily and legally buy & "foods" marketed to us full of a truly frightening array of chemicals.

Stop this ride, I wanna get off!!

Bouncing back? I'm an entrepreneurial solo mama with no safety net - it's what I do.

I am alit the same...
So I moved "back" to art..
Heh heh heh! 😉😊😄
You have a Very, Very Wonderful Thursday!
🙋🏻‍♀️👍🏼🤗🌄🤗👍🏼🙋🏻‍♀️
(*I really think most who stay active here are all about the same, just some are more aggressive than others)!
😅😂😅


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@thatcryptodave(2/10) tipped @artemislives (x1)

Please vote for pizza.witness!

It’s big Pharma and its squid arms trying to control the world of health and population control! The minions of the cabal are everywhere!

Wow this is shocking and it scares me, as it so clearly shows what way they want to world to go in. You are so right, how and where we choose to spend our money makes a huge difference.
I am so sorry that you are now faced with all of this, when you do so much good and are a wonderful example of someone who is focused on making the world a better place. Sending you love xxxxx

I think most consumers have NO IDEA what producers of their products are allowed to say, or not. This is a big part of the censorship discussion that often gets overlooked.

The disallowed words only seem to apply if you're truly attempting to help educate the public...rather than help with keeping them ignorant.

Thanks for Posting in

Free Speech Community


https://peakd.com/c/hive-168088/created

Sorry I missed the tag, it's hard on the road. Feel free to DM me on Insta next time, you know I am 💯 percent supportive of anything you write x

Worlds gone mad.. everything's about money over common sense.

Absolutely disgusting it's like everyday now the government is doing something to make thing's worse.

What a world we live in where we have humans designating WORDS, simple words, to companies who support their agenda. Thank you for sharing this, best of luck with your business.

Read 1/2 of this and had to stop...Just makes me sick. You can't say that/this or else... Cattle waiting to be milked.... Shame on you for not thinking like everyone else. I really don't give a fuck about my life when I think about what my daughter is going to have to do and deal with because of "our" Lazy and negligent way of thinking. #bringbacktarandfeathering2022