You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Futility of Police Reform Efforts

in FreeSpeech4 years ago

The problems with this seemingly plausible arguments are numerous, though.

  1. Police have no legal duty ton protect anyone in the first place.
  2. Prohibitions on firearms and self-defense violate the premise of governmental authority based on providing security
  3. Using the military in place of police is a violation of the division between civil and military authority.

AntiFa is a problem, but not one solved by ramping up authoritarianism. All problems can only be resolved by more liberty, and no one seems to be pushing that way except for the Boog Boyz.

Sort:  

Ramping up authoritarianism isn't something I want either, but the solution to a long-term problem may not work in the short term. That's what I wanted to know - if "law-abiding" citizens are prohibited from defending themselves, and no-one else is protecting them, what then? I tried to put myself in the situation, and asked "would I want the National Guard to come in and drive the black bloc out?" but then I remembered, I'd never live in a place like Minneapolis begin with!

Of course, my biggest problem is with Antifa and gangs like it. This is why we can't have nice things. Every time they latch on to a peaceful protest and turn it violent, it's another excuse for the State to take away more of our liberties. Antifa especially pisses me off, because they give anarchists a bad name. It should come as no surprise that I can feel my blood pressure rising every time I get the slightest suspicion that someone is about to defend them.