Sort:  

Agreed. Of course, any centralised institution is a threat to a free society; I think it was Thomas Jefferson who once said "banking institutions are a greater danger than standing armies."

Anyway, the articles in question:

The Cathedral

You favourite weapon sucks

Stupid or Pysop? Anti-War Pundits

Asymmetrical Warfare, or more accurately, why you need a gun

Call me Mr. Grinch, because I ruined someone's Christmas Eve

BTW, you might detect a little axe-grinding going on. I do indeed have an axe to grind with certain people, in some cases for reasons way beyond just what I specifically mentioned.

Remember when there was an anti-war left? Of course, I would argue that people who want a centrally-planned society can't really be anti-war. The police they need to impose and enforce their vision is a standing army. They demand war against any who refuse to comply. I'm sure they would say I can't be anti-war and pro-market, because somehow economic fascism is the consequence of the free market sit stifles. Or that I somehow can't be pro-gun and anti-war. Never mind the efficacy of asymmetric warfare you discussed. Joe Biden even keeps doddering on about how you can't fight jets, tanks, and nukes with rifles while ignoring the abject failure of US militarism in Afghanistan for two decades.

The anti-war crowd was only "left" because the political establishment was "right." Similarly, the free speech warriors used to be "left" for the same reason, but now the roles have reversed. I went through this in an article that was, in some ways, a prelude to Propaganda and Subversion Part 2.

Long ago I wrote about the oddity of being anti-war yet a fan of war games. I know you discussed that in some of the posts you linked above. Do you have anything to add on that topic? A few of my own excuses:

No one dies on a tabletop or computer screen.

Players all play voluntarily.

Strategy and risk/reward gambles are stimulating.

Sci-fi and fantasy settings have no bearing on real life.