You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: IKEA kind of kicked my ass

The hotdogs are awful, but the meatballs are awesome.

There was a tipping problem with a few Ikea designs, some actually come with fasteners to secure it to the wall. I think the high numbers were just due to popularity and Ikea furniture is essentially no more dangerous than any others.

I'm definitely not fancy either. The really cheap stuff from Ikea like those 10$ tables are often junk and look like junk. Their mid and high range stuff is great and I think it looks nice. My kitchen table and chairs have served me well and I have a few things from there I like. I even have an Ikea mattress that was quite expensive (I won't skimp on this), but really damn comfortable. The kitchen stuff is cool, too. I definitely have some.

Sort:  

Yeah, tethering certain furniture is not a bad thing when kids are around. We had a case here where a kid pulled a chest of drawers on himself, a two year old. Killed him,.poor little bugger. Tethering those massive TV's is good too, certainly in a house with kids.

We have loads of IKEA and most of my friends use it too, I agree with you that their mid-priced stuff is pretty good. My brother had a whole kitchen from IKEA and it worked perfectly, looked good and was price effective. It's good gear generally.

And them dem meatballs...🤣

Tethering those massive TV's is good too, certainly in a house with kids.

Mine's not mounted or tethered, one day I'll probably regret it. I'm willing to bet Korean TVs injure more people here than Ikea furniture, but they would blame Chinese ones for being more dangerous in this regard. It's protectism.

I do like Ikea, and assembly can be entertaining. I've never got to the point of losing it due to frustration, but I've been close. I don't think I would want to assemble a kitchen or one of those giant closets. So many pieces.

Some of the sets look nice. I think everyone likes the showrooms.

They've hit on a winning formula really, it's all quite ingenious. I watched a documentary on their manufacturing process and systems some time ago and found it very interesting. I used to work in a GM auto plant so am not unfamiliar with inventive systems and was very impressed with what IKEA have put together. There's a series called Mega Factories which showcases various places. Pretty clever stuff.

I'm going to get that drawer unit done tomorrow night as I'm picking up my cordless power drill to screw it all together my wife will be happy. 🙂