A sisterly hobby


Perhaps my childhood was not the happiest in the world, nor the one everyone dreams of, even so I enjoyed it enormously, so there are many things I remember fondly, most of them courtesy of my fabulous pair of sisters, thanks to them, I established the habit of reading, my taste for series and films was born, but without a doubt one of the activities I most enjoyed sharing with them were those moments when we would sit in front of a board and then the Hunger Games would begin.

Of course, this wasn't literal (in fact, the Hunger Games didn't even exist back then), I'm simply talking about board games. Honestly, I don't remember where the idea to start playing them came from, but it was something we loved to do, and we could spend hours getting stuck into a game of Clue or making up words in Scrabble. Board games always accompanied our gatherings and celebrations, becoming something that brought us closer together and that we still share with each of our families today.

The three of us shared unforgettable moments in front of those cards and counters. Although my age was a disadvantage at first, as they were several years older than me (9 and 8 years), I eventually caught up and learned the necessary strategies to compete with my older sisters. It was a very rewarding experience, because it showed me that I could compete and be part of the group, even though I was the youngest. Eventually, the experience led me on the path to victory, of course not all the time, but at least I can say that I gave them fair competition, especially in Scrabble, which ended up becoming my favourite.

This is how board games became a very special memory for me, something that inevitably reminds me of my childhood and that unites me with my sisters, even though the three of us are thousands of miles apart. Through those games we shared, we created stories, laughter and moments that became precious memories that help us stay together despite the distance. Now in my adulthood I still enjoy them and of course I have the two who remind me most of those special moments I had with them.



Board games have become more than just an activity for me, they are an important part of my family history and bear witness to our connection as sisters. Through them, we have learned the importance of keeping our relationships close and treasuring the special moments we share together. That is why I have made my own collection of board games (in fact, each of us has our own collection) I feel they are a way of keeping our sisterly connection alive, even though we are physically separated by distance.

This has been my participation for the #weekend-engagement: WEEK 141, on the theme "Childhood".

Happy weekend to all of you.


Thank you very much for reading, see you in the comments




Pictures taken by me and my sisters - Cover and banner edited in Canva - Cartoons made in bitmoji.

Sort:  

The truth is that I don't remember when all these board games started either, but without a doubt they are part of our history and I believe that now they are a family inheritance when we introduce them to our families.
Matias and Miranda love them and in fact they already have their own small collection, but their favorites are our old ones. Scrabble, Clue and Monopoly.

It gives me great joy to know that there are so many things that keep us together in spite of so many more.

I love you @adalathu

We play here when there are family gatherings, but as soon as Leo is older we'll be able to play more often. Our favourites are Clue and Scrabble, you know I don't like Monopoly, so I hardly ever take it out to play, hahahahahaha.

I love you, sis 😘

I don't think I played enough board games back when I was a kid. Of course, it doesn't help my brother and I didn't get along at all. 🤣

We played a lot, I think it was our favourite thing to do together, even though we ended up fighting over the rules, hahahahahaha.

That's a classic of tabletop games. 🤣

Hahahahaha, it was part of the fun 🤣

Oh, yeah. Nothing speaks of childhood like some family feud over tabletop game rules. 🤣🤣

Exactly 🤣

🤣🤣

I have not played such games but it seems you guys have got a hard bonding with it. Well, nowadays mobile game has appeared, peoples are busy with mobile games now.

Mobile games are fun, I play a lot of them, but board games still have their charm for me 🙈

Oh I see. Try to keep up this charm with the next generation.

I love board games but people around me aren't interested in it.

That is so sad! They are missing lots of fun 😅

It is carzy how fast time flies and you can do absolutely nothing about it!

It is such a blessing to have a great childhood and fun memories that you can hold on to and reminisce about. Board games were also a staple in my childhood. I grew up playing scrabble, monopoly, chess, and this African game called Ayo.
The times were so simple back then.
Now the world is just happening so fast, the world has gone digital and we feel like this coming generation will miss a lot of actually fun analog games.

Oh well, you're blessed to have had a such a great childhood. Kudos to your parents!
Nice walk down memory lane.

Yes, the current times are very different from ours, they are not bad and I imagine that the new generations will have their memories too, however, I wouldn't change my time for the current one 😅.

I'm glad to have brought back good memories for you, Greetings ✌️

I don't remember playing this, I think very little, we played mostly with dolls haha, I remember playing with my younger sister, but I also fought a lot with her, now we are all distant, but I still love them, they are my sisters, and I know they will always be there when I need them, nice memories that you share with us, greetings.

You never played board games before? 😱
We loved them and we played them a lot, I think it was the thing we did most together apart from watching TV, it was a big part of our family history 😅