[WE112] Back in fashion

Good evening hivers in the weekend community. As usual we have some interesting topics to write on this weekend. Thanks to @galenkp, I will be writing on the topic Back in fashion.

There is something I can see is gradually fazing off in recent times in our society especially in the nation where I reside (Nigeria).
Which is lack of regards/reverential fear for teachers amongst pupils and students in schools.

pexels-max-fischer-5212345.jpg
SOURCE

I live in the Abuja which is the capital city of my country. And currently, teaching is one of the jobs I do. Teaching in private schools especially schools for kids with rich parents can be very tasking in the present day. I am speaking from experience because I am currently working in one of such schools.

Dissatisfied with what goes on in schools I am forced to remember my time in primary and secondary school. We had very young and as well old teachers who we held in very high regards. Whenever we are doing the wrong thing and see our teachers both within the school and outside the school environment we always had to run away or hide. We showed remorse when we are punished or corrected with words by our teachers. We feel bitter when flogged but soon we brighten up and the love we had for our teachers never dwindled. I remembered vividly, during my senior secondary school days, I was just in SS1, I was an average student in mathematics, we had a Mathematics teacher name Mr. Alex he was so strict and gives appropriate punishments for wrong doing, he wanted perfection from everyone in the subject area, he was tough but that was the basis of my love for mathematics, knowing the retribution I will get when I don’t do well in mathematics assignments or continuous assessments I decided to put in extra hours studying mathematics, when I find any concept difficult to comprehend I go to him for expatiation. Soon I became the best in mathematics in my class as well as other students improved drastically in mathematics. Mathematics became my best subject. This same story was applicable to many teachers we had.

Students were corrected openly and punished severely for wrong doing, we learned to be respectful and to avoid immoral company as well. But the reverse is almost the case now.

1_Y7h3FklM_sb4gkvc5-apkg.jpeg

SOURCE

Most schools have a policy that teachers should not punish students and this well known by kids ad teens in the school they tend to behave stubbornly, students are now recalcitrant to instruction from teachers because they are aware of the rules that teachers have no rights to punish them. I am not of the opinion that punishment must be in strokes, but surely there should be some forms of retribution that students should be given when necessary. Students fight teachers, insult teachers and as well invite their parents who come and insult and as well assault teachers in school because they are richer. Imagine a child doing same to a Doctor/nurse who treats him/her in the hospital, imagine a child doing same to a pilot on board. Of course, it looks absurd, but they were all trained by a teacher.

In my country Nigeria teaching is the most neglected profession, but nobody became useful without a teacher. Boldly written on the walls in my alma mater is TEACHERS ARE LIKE CANDLE STICKS THEY BURN THEMSELVES OUT JUST TO ILLUMINATE OTHERS. This is so true and teachers deserves more respect and regard as well as every person.

This is what is out of fashion In my society and I want it back in fashion

This is my entry for the week thanks for reading through. Hope your weekend is well spent.

Sort:  

I enjoyed reading through your post. Teachers should be well respected in our society. The idea of not to punish students when they default is causing moral decadence in the society.

Very True.... Thanks @leosmart

WE THX IM.png

The original #weekend-engagement concept by @galenkp featured in the
WEEKEND EXPERIENCES community.

Image belongs to @galenkp

Congratulations @adorable-diala! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You distributed more than 10 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 50 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Day - August 1st 2022
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

thanks @hivebuzz

You're welcome @adorable-diala! Have a nice day 😊👍