Repairing a Drainage (Weekend-Engagement Week 176)

Greetings Weekenders!

Since the topic of rising global temperatures (global warming) became known to me, I also started to ponder today's weather and the type of weather I experienced in the 1980s, 1990s, and 2000s. If I remember it right rains in the 1980s and 1990s could be easily anticipated. In the 1980s and 1990s farmers here in our town know exactly when the bulk of rain will fall. With those farmers, I learned to anticipate rains each year.

Enter the decade 2010s and today, the pattern of rainfall is not exactly as it was back in the 1980s, 1990s, and early 2000s. This year, especially, rains are very very hard to predict as the weather behaves very differently now than in the 1980s and 1990s. Today, three weeks can pass by without a single drop rain which is not happening in the 1980s and 1990s.

Yesterday afternoon (Saturday), I was surprised when it rained because the whole day was very sunny. I even looked at the weather channel which showed no clouds in our town and then by 4:00 o'clock in the afternoon clouds suddenly began to form and then it rained very hard for more than two hours.

The rain saturated the soil of my small calamansi garden so I was forced to repair the drainage that I had built prior to the rainy season. Armed with a hoe I went into my small calamansi garden to repair the drainage. Basically, when I am repairing a drainage I am only making it wider and deeper.

20231022_165201.jpg

This is me while I am thinking where to begin the repair

Thus, the rain made me work more than usual this weekend because I have to make sure that the drainage of my small calamansi garden is flowing well. At the back of my mind, I should have repaired the drainage a couple of days ago because repairing a drainage with water is very messy. Although, repairing a drainage with dry soil is equally hard but without the messiness.

By the way, can you see my calamansi plants? They are the ones with dark green leaves. I think it took me about an hour to repair the drainage.


That is all for now guys, catch you up with the next one. Wishing you all safety, good health, and abundance.

Thank you very much to all of the Hive Ecosystem Curation Teams/Individuals, I am very grateful for the upvotes/curation/support. God bless you all!

I am a Computer Engineer, blogger, farmer, gardener, father, and husband. I love countryside living, nature, and farming (rice/vegetables), and I have two decades of experience as an I.T. professional


Copyright © 2023 @afterglow. All Rights Reserved.

Sort:  

It's hard work dealing with this unpredictable weather. Great photo of you..

Great photo of you..

Thank you. I agree, it is hard dealing with this unpredictable weather we are experiencing right now. I am hoping that the whole world going electric with electric vehicles will slowly calm down Mother Nature.