The weekend full of calculation.

IMG_20230918_082238_255.jpg

Hello great Hive fam. It's been a great while I make a post. Couple with the busy schedule here in school! 😢 But that God I'm here again. I want to send my shout out to everyone making endless efforts to see this community a great one. Thanks all!! 😊

IMG_20230918_170500_887.jpg

A Saturday morning, just woke up at my colleague's apartment just to receive the message asking all the course student of Bld510 ( Structural Design) asking us to submit the semester assessment on Monday. Wow 😲. But we just finished project proposal yesterday? Benard asked rhetorical, I was shocked and sadden. Why? We have been on break for the past two weeks but we Building students have not yet been freed to join 😞 the break oh… from one activity to the other!!! Oh it's too much I lament.

Going through the class WhatsApp group, there various messages of weakness 😕 and lamenting fload the chat. How are going to do it. We just finished exams, and project proposal yesterday! We, the 500l students of Building technology, are expected to carry out this course in fulfilment of the award of Btech in Construction. We all at our final year.

I told Benard, I never knew or expected it this way! "This department is on our head" how do they expect us to go about this? Do you know what? We are the ending part of the semester (first) and the culture is, during this ending part food stuffs always finishing up 😔 funds at zero level. 😂 so one need to be calm and quiet but reverse is the case here. We have to work with this status no matter what.

16950531857683775169671393285870.jpg
Benard working

Benard advice, bro jaz up and let see what we can come up with, I said alright. But we haven't eating yet I told him, I don't play with breakfast 😊😊. Quickly the left over food was warmed and we feast on it for the strength needed. Suddenly, we began. A design of structural members of a building, Slab, beam, stairs column and foundation. With detailing all to be done and submitted the coming Monday. And it's Saturday 😭.

IMG_20230917_121824_952.jpg
Part of the sheets used

I got a floor plan, a one storey residential dublex. We are not concerned about the aesthetic but the structural members and their stability. That's our scope of work, as Builders. So working with my plan, I got six slap panels and over nineteen beams and and twelve columns to design for… oooh I am weak. And it's a manual calculation. Orion and other structural softwares are not supported here. Strictly manually. The time is limited.

16950534029948781546294576033539.jpg
Part of the slab design

Started working on my slab around 10: 15am and finished around 2: 34pm oh… how long this calculation was . My head aches 😭 couldn't rest for over four days now. Body weak as a result 😞 and still have to complete this work before dead line. Benard also soon was done with his slab. We decided to take a break. To regain some strength and come afresh.

Then, we got sweet potato and cook with beans, 😋 playing an American movie the old Indiana, we got some funs and happiness. I said bro, are you sure we should continue this work or leave it till tomorrow since it's Sunday? He smiled and me thinking he agrees he said no let's go ahead with the work. That was about 5:30pm already. I rule my boarders line on all my sheets, trying to start with the simple part and begin suddenly. The beam I have to design for is three which will cover for the remaining symetricals. Do you know what I succeeded only designing for one of those beam and that was the long and toughest of them. So I decided to halt for the day. Benard later couldn't finish even one of his beam yet. We decided to look for dinner and try watching some funny movies mostly of Kelvin H.. your know to ca our head. Moreover it's a Sunday and we need to go church early so we rested.

IMG_20230918_171403_454.jpg

The Saturday was a total lock down here. Couldn't even have time to visit or have a cycling for the evening. It was just choked up. Benard said, "I can't wait to finish up this program and leave this school" so I was like 😅☺️ are you the one saying this? You that loves school like mad hahaha 🤣🤣. We watched our movie with one mind and later go to bed. That's the end of the Saturday 😂😆.

I realized, only the strong can make it done at some point in life. So no matter what don't give up ❣️. I decided to make it a goal sharing from my experience lately here. Much love everyone.

All pictures are mine and taken from Tecno spark 7.....

Sort:  

we.png

Wow thanks so much Sir @galenkp
I seriously need a guide to perform well in your community Sir!

There's a posting guide pinned to the top of the community feed.