Sight seeing and eating well in downtown Mexico City (weekend day 1)

in Weekend Experiences7 months ago (edited)

First time in Mexico City y'all!

I'm super excited for this couples trip. Me and @pamarias teamed up with the usual suspects to check out the most fun and delicious places around the city. Here's a little recap of what we did on our first day in Mexico.

San Juan Market

Part of the reason we're in Mexico City is because chef Pete is a guest at a friend's restaurant in La Roma Norte, so the first order of business was to get some supplies like fresh produce, seafood, cheese and a few ingredients for him to cook. We went to Mercado San Juan, one of the oldest public markets in Mexico City and a sight to be seen.

If was very well organized, clean and full of colorful spices and fruit stands everywhere.
20230602_123357.jpeg

20230602_122144.jpeg

20230602_122156.jpeg

There were also lots of stands with exotic meat and even chocolate-covered insects, if that's your kind of thing.

20230602_122458.jpeg

20230602_122509.jpeg

One of the most popular drinks in Mexico is mescal, made from the agave plant. Why not drink mescal with a giant scorpion floating in it? Does it give it an extra kick? who knows. It definitely looks cool though.

20230602_121332.jpeg

It was getting close to Beer O'clock and everybody knows what happens at Beer O'Clock.

I walked up to the friendly lady in her stand and ordered two beers. A tallboy for me and a regular Modelo for my friend Ana.

This is my very first beer in Mexico

20230602_122101.jpeg

The colorful piñata stands looked amazing, so I had to get a picture of that

20230602_124138.jpeg

20230602_124149.jpeg

20230602_124214.jpeg


Walking around Mexico's historic district

After San Juan Market, we wandered around downtown for a bit. Our first visit was to the Palacio Postal, the construction of which began in 1902, while president Porfirio Diaz was in office. The current building is the post office's fifth building and was designed by Italian architect Adamo Boari.

The inside was absolutely marvelous!

Beautiful details on the ceilings, windows and spectacular work with bronze.

As you can see, it's also fully operational. You can see folk standing in line to have their packages mailed.

20230602_133618.jpeg

20230602_133649.jpeg

20230602_133806.jpeg

20230602_133813.jpeg

20230602_134005.jpg

The architect behind the design of the Palacio Postal, Adamo Boari, was also responsible for the design of this gorgeous building, The Palacio de Bellas Artes, one of the most iconic buildings in Mexico City and a place where countless artistic performances have been hosted.

20230602_132807.jpeg

The inside of Palacio de Bellas Artes is quite literally a museum with hundreds of murals, and paintings by renowned artists such as Jorge Gonzalez Camarena

image source

And Diego Rivera (more about him in an upcoming post)

Palacio_de_Bellas_Artes_-_Mural_El_Hombre_in_cruce_de_caminos_Rivera_3.jpeg
image source

Panoramic photo by Raúl Bucio

Absolutely spectacular!


Flying internationally with cleavers and sharp blades seems to be an issue for some reason, so we also visited China Town (Barrio Chino) to look for some knives for Pete's dinner. While we were at it, we might as well have a few beers and some shop around for other bits and bobs.

20230602_125250.jpeg

We continued to El Zocalo. Formally known as Plaza de la Constitución. At 46,800 square meters it's the largest plaza en Latin America. Today, they were getting ready to host a concert by Los Fabulosos Cadillacs! One of the most famous reggae/ska bands in all Latin America

20230602_145410.jpeg

20230602_150001.jpeg

It's a free concert, and I would have loved to stay, but at 300,000 attendees, it would have been impossible to get out of there. But I'm sure it was one hell of a show.

This is more or less what it looked like 😮Fabulosos Cadillacs en el Zocalo2.jpeg
image source

20230602_150413.jpeg

20230602_144947.jpeg

20230602_150815.jpeg
20230602_133351.jpeg

So much walking around can make you hungry!

We stopped at La Opera, a place known for having a gun shot hole made by Pancho Villa, commander of the Northern Division and iconic figure in the Mexican Revolution. It's said that there was a bar brawl going on when Pancho Villa entered La Opera. He looked around and fired up at the ceiling to get people's attention. Told everyone to be quiet because he wanted to have a drink 😄

Talk about wild west!

Este-es-el-punto-que-imanta-todas-las-miradas-dentro-de-La-Ópera.-2-e1502474791130.jpeg
image source

We had some piglet in Chinese roast box.

Absolutely delicious and got my very first Mexican pepper burn!
(totally worth it)

20230602_140923.jpeg

Bitcoin Embassy bar in La Roma

We finished our day at a bar close to our Airbnb. It's called the Bitcoin Embassy and as you can imagine, they happily accept payment in Bitcoin.

20230602_174154.jpeg

20230602_195027.jpeg
IMG-20230603-WA0000.jpg

Dinner with Chef Pete

After a few beers at Bitcoin Embassy and a nap we went to the place where chef Pete was going to be serving his specialty hams and sausages. It was a small little restaurant-bar in a lovely place called La Roma. The place was packed to the brim! Tables had to be brought out to the sidewalk so people could have a place to sit.

20230602_204403.jpeg

20230602_204409.jpeg

20230602_204431.jpeg

20230602_204440.jpeg

20230602_204445.jpeg

20230602_204450.jpeg

I'd say my day one in Mexico City was an outstanding success!

Let's see what day two has in store :)

Sort:  

Those insects for sale had me doing double takes. I don't think I can eat them even if they're covered in chocolate. The scorpion in a bottle is crazy, and looked like a Facehugger.

The Palacio Postal looked wonderful. The architectural details are really nice and I would have thought I was in a museum. Which makes sense, since the architect also designed a museum.

It's good to see a store accepting bitcoin in Mexico, and the food you had looked delicious. It seems you had a very eventful day, and it's only the first day. I hope you enjoy your stay, and thank you for sharing your adventures.

Haha weird right?

An amazing city to visit. Will probably go back soon :)

The popular country of Mexico. A home for many. I am sure you definitely enjoy and have great fun over there

It's an amazing city. Lots of stuff to do and lots of tacos! Would highly recommend visiting.

Bon appetit, man! Insects are not my favorite food, they look weird to me. But the important thing is to have a good day, I'm glad you had a good day!

Haha I didn't eat any chocolate-covered insects, but I did eat grasshopper tacos! They're called chapulines and they are nutritious and delicious.

receta-de-tacos-de-chapulines.jpeg

Oh, bon appetit to you man not my thing. I'm happy with chicken and burger 🤣

wow

You had a super interesting experience, the truth is that Mexico is a country that I really like, I have good friends there and I hope that one day I can visit it.

This photo surprised me, it is something really very curious.

Mexico City is a really fun city :)

These look yummy, right? 😄🦗🕷🦂

The truth is that yes, it causes eating them!

I wonder if you tried them, what do they taste like?

!BBH

@alex-rourke! Your Content Is Awesome so I just sent 1 $BBH (Bitcoin Backed Hive) to your account on behalf of @manclar. (1/5)

I did live in Mexico but never made it to Mexico City so a bit jelly here, you got to see, taste and experience a lot! That concert on the plaza looks like a revolution or something! The crowd is enormous, wow! Are you still in Mexico or back home in Guatemala already? Btw you originally come from the US, right?

I'm back in Guatemala my friend! It was only a weekend trip + a couple of days. I'm definitely going back soon, there's just so much to see and do! I grew up in the States, yes; In South Florida, but I moved down here in 2005, lived in Costa Rica for a few years and now back here. I'm happy to say I keep in touch with a few Hiveans who have also settled in Guatemala like @buttcoins and @neopch. Hoping to see the HIVE community grow down here :)

Wow, what a story! After almost 20 years in Latin America, you might already feel more like a Latino than a US dude haha :D I love it man but my stay over there was much shorter. Just 2 years in Mexico and during that time, we also visited a couple of other Latin America countries, including Costa Rica, which has been my very favorite country in the world ever since, mostly because of the incredible nature and they way that Ticos take care of it. If only it was cheaper to live there haha :D

Glad that you have some fellow Hivers around, that´s always nice. I happened to visit a Hive meet up in Krakow, Poland some 3 weeks ago where almost 40 Hivers from all over Europe showed up, it was amazing!

40 Hiveans in once place! that's awesome!

We're still in the very early stages around here, but there are very passionate Hiveans who want to build a community. I have the feeling we're about to make this a Hive Hub :)

Awesome! Fingers crossed guys! I know there was a little regional community of Hivers (Steemers back then) in Bocas del Toro, Panama but I think they are not active anymore. These days, the largest and strongest Hive communities in LatAm are in Venezuela, Cuba, Argentina and Colombia. I´m sure you will put Guatemala on the Hive map soon too ;)

Someone else came up with the idea, but I'm super onboard to help make it happen. There might be some news soon™, but I can neither confirm nor deny any of it.

The Mescal drink actually looked scary to me, lol
I'm glad that you enjoyed yourself in Mexico
You deserve the enjoyment
Keep it up!

Mexico is amazing! Would love to come back.