You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Weekend-engagement topic week 47: Favourite transport [answer and win hive]

I think my favorite transportation is still the first car that I owned. I bought it when I was in the Army and drove it back home when I got out. I drove the car for 7 or 8 years until the engine broke a piston ring. It was a 1963 Ford Falcon. I bought it well used in 1975, so it was 12 years old at that point.
The engines in the old cars didn't hold up as well as the more modern cars...my current vehicle was made in 1993 and has 180 thousand miles on it, and still burns very little oil. It's just not as cool as that old Falcon.
I don't have a digitized picture of it.

Sort:  

There's always a thing with a first. 😃

Like they always say, first love never dies 🙂
I can imagine the love you had for your old Falcon.
Did you perhaps sell it out or it's still lying in your garage?
I am curious to know.

It got sold for parts many years ago. The underbody was very rusted out.

Oh, I see. Guess it was worth it

Am I hearing (reading) a potential pet project happening in the future??? Resurrection of a Falcon?

I wish! That car has been gone for 30 years...

Very cool, 1963 Falcon. I remember looking at a 1964 Falcon coupe when I was around 17...I needed it so badly but alas I never got it...The one that got away I guess. Also, I didn't realise you were ex-Army. Pretty cool. ✅

!ENGAGE 20

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

You never forget your first love ❤️.

img_0.36502327916601635.jpg

I can imagine how cool you'd look in this. 👌🏽

That is just about exactly the car I had. It was metallic orange when I got it, but the original color was red like the one in the picture.

Considering the type of car and the time that that you acquired it. How expensive was it then?

What do you have now? My VW van is from 92! (made a comment here somewhere about hem) Got 275000 km on it!

My current vehicle is a 1993 Ford Explorer Sport 2 door. It's pretty much a Bronco with a different name. 4 liter V-6 with about 190 thousand miles on it.

93, that's a modern one 😋Mine is from 92 😂

Hell yeah a 64 Falcon! My cousin had a Falcon, I'm not sure the year but it was right around the same year.

Great times in that car!