You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Weekend-engagement topic week 62: Skills you have or want

Skilling Up. A BIG question in my mind these last months as I ponder the fact that my life and business here in Thailand are unlikely to ever go back to "the way things were". And that I need to consider carefully how to move more easily in this changed world.

  1. I've started actively working on my Dutch language again - my mother tongue. Why? To be able to sit the citizenship exam. Because being a non-resident discriminated-against migrant Australian who can't currently visit my elderly dying mother is showing me the values of the country my parents adopted, and which I do not share. Also my daughter hopes to go to University in Holland.

  2. I'm ALSO beginning not one but 2 new languages - the Karen indigenous language, and Burmese. A HUGE step towards being more effective with the indigenous people I work with. Gamechanger.

  3. In this impersonal online world, I'm wanting to learn about online retail that sidesteps our Zuckerish "friend". Effective sales through blogging, SEO on platforms other than google etc. This one is tricky. And so I decided getting back to ANY regular blogging habit 😆 was an essential starting point.

I'm "reading" (audio book via Hay House Publishing's AMAZING access program) The Intelligent Rebel - originally published in French and a Best Seller, about learning and education and how to adapt to a changing (digital) world in a climate of life long learning.

Grateful to you for continuing the weekend challenge - some constancy required in challenging times. For human and visual interest, here's me handing out meals at the daily "feeding of the 5,000" here in Chiang Mai. Depression level food handouts have become part of many people's reality here as Thailand remains effectively closed and most Thai people are battling a massive surge of Delta cases. Us? we're healthy and relatively isolated at home, deselecting from the being sick thing. 😆

FoodQueue1.jpg

Sort:  

Uhhhhh. I barely speak English.

I presume that Holland doesn't have a 'heritage' passport option? My brother is getting his Irish passport via his brother (and father) that he just found this year.

I like to think I'm an optimist with pragmatic leanings. I take some pleasure in things like you 'feeding the 5000' simply because somebody(ies) have stepped up and accepted the challenge. There's a lot to be said for that.

Duck Duck Go is your friend. I've never researched the SEO of the place but it doesn't collect any personal data OR advertising. I'd guess the SEO is just strictly organic.

Really glad to see you back at it. Your voice counts.

I personally shouldn't need a heritage option - I was a dutch citizen, still have my original papers and the citizenship was relinquished by my parents (while I was underage) since, at that time, dual citizenship was not possible. That has changed. So now a paperwork-exam-payment process for me. :) Then a paperwork process after that to claim citizenship by descent for my daughter. Not sure if she'll be allowed to have a 3rd nationality thought (she already has both Thai and Australian).

I'm off to find some content about SEO on Duck Duck Go. And yes, ultimately, organic keywords lasts, works across all platforms and is the best. I'm thinking, ultimately, there are no real short-cuts.

Hey Marike thanks for dropping back in; it seems you've go a great deal going on, I don't know where to start, and am reluctant to make massive comments anyway as I know peoples time is valuable to them.

You're planning on going back to Holland? I guess maybe you'll keep you business and go back and forth as required? I hope this works out, must be complicated to put together.

Learning languages and avoiding Zucks as well...That's a full-time job! Oh, and in the meantime just handing out food to the needy as if you haven't got enough to do. I hope you enjoy that 13 minutes sleep you get each night!

Great to have you back to the #weekend-engagement topic, come back again as time permits.

Not planning on going back to Holland - just wanting better citizenship privileges than Australia is offering. When we moved to Oz, dual citizenship wasn't possible. But now it is.

Planning to stay in SE Asia predominantly, with visits to Holland to settle my daughter into Uni. It makes sense to develop business there, and citizenship gives me a lot more privileges there.

I sometimes sleep more than 13 minutes... 😆 stops me from fretting too much about the chaos around me and the seeming quicksand that is the future for young people like my girl.

If anyone can make this all work out it's you. You seem to have a way of getting stuff done. Lol...Sometimes sleep for more that 13 minutes!

It means your plan it to take your daughter to Holland for schooling. Making citizen in where you are is the best.

Giving out food to thw needy very much necessary as this can go along way. And learning. I think this is hisbway of helping

I would have loved to speak Burmese, I like learning new languages.

I think this should be the first time I will be hearing this language name that you just mentioned. I don't even know how it sounds.

Learning stuff is the most important skill to have. That's how you build up new skills and get to higher tiers of awesomeness. These are some excellent things to do. Getting into knew languages is like earning a new life in another culture. It gives you more contact with things you might not have considered before and so on. Pretty good things to show. The last part, well, we all need businesses to keep our heads above water.

I felt your passion in this one. Good morning Artemislives. One language is challenging, I admire your ambition. Don't be a stranger!

It means your own side of your skill he is languages. Learning those languages you mentioned above are very much paramount and important as this will go a long way to bring people together.