[WE-148] - The time savers


View from my office. London.

I am extremely busy in life. I have a hectic job with lots of stress, a big demanding family and I have quite an active social/volunteering/sporting life outside work. The weekend engagement question on time saving resonated with me as I spend so much time trying to optimise my hours. So how do I do it?

JFDI

They say if you want to get something done, then ask a busy person to do it.

It sounds counter-intuitive but my first time saving tip is JFDI - just fooking do it. We spend too much time putting things off and thinking about doing the thing that needs to be done.

If you spend too much time thinking about a thing, you'll never get it done.
Bruce Lee

I start my day by trying to plan what needs to be done for the day to be success and ensure that I just got on with it. Stop time wasting and procrastinating.

Do it just right

The next thing I try to do is do it right the first time so that I don't have to come back and fix it later. This is one of the biggest time wasters - not to finish something off properly.

However, you can also over do it. Why keep polishing something that is already good enough. If it is good enough - well, then it is good enough. Seems obvious right?

The key is to set yourself parameters that you are trying to achieve. Know what good looks like and then just go for it.

Do it just right - the Goldilocks' zone.

Prioritise


Paddington Station, London

Everyone is rushing around in life and everyone is busy doing something. This can be overwhelming when on the receiving end of things that people want. I find the key is to prioritise properly so that I don't waste time on things.

I start by thinking about what is appears to be urgent vs. those things that are really important.

Someone famous once said that if we spend all our time on those things which are urgent, we will never have time for the important things.

Don't get fooled by the person who shouts the loudest. It properly isn't the most important thing. Planning priorities is key.


One of my planning boards

Once planned then if something is important and urgent. Then JFDI. If is urgent but not important. Don't let it distract you from the things that are important - it's not important however urgent someone makes it sound. If it is neither important or urgent. It's trivial timewasting. Stop it.

Timebox it

Finally, have an plan of how long something should take before you start. I try to check my progress as I am going against how much time I intended to spend on something. It helps keep focus and sustain energy to deliver something on time. One of the key time saving tips is to be strict on how much time we spend on something in the first place.

This tip wraps the others ones up. Because once you have planned, you know it is important, you know what good looks like and you have a target of how long it will take. Just get on with it and hit your targets. Anything else is timewasting.

Time is the most valuable thing a man can spend.
Theophrastus

That's how I try to save time!


Images are all my own

Sort:  

Someone famous once said that if we spend all our time on those things which are urgent, we will never have time for the important things.
Don't get fooled by the person who shouts the loudest. It properly isn't the most important thing. Planning priorities is key".

Two of the paragraphs with which I felt the most empathy during the entire reading. I also have a very hectic professional life. I am a single mother, with a three-year-old son, three jobs, and many professions that demand a lot of effort. I travel frequently and that also implies being separated from my family. But, I really enjoy what I do and I appreciate having the joy of being able to earn a living doing what I like; In that sense, I am then doing what is urgent and important for me and my family, that it will always be to build a better future.
Thanks for your post. Very thoughtful!!! 🤗

Wow, it sounds like you do have your handfuls!

It is difficult balancing especially family life. I travel quite a lot for work and that means sometimes staying away from home and not being with the family. I always try to balance that with good family time when we are together. I work to live though not live to work - I remind myself that so that I keep to my plan as to what is really important to me.

Thanks for dropping by and commenting.

Very good article @awah. I sometimes use the 5am trick to JFDI; or eat the frog first thing in the morning. The biggest issue I find is disturbance from work/Teams messages (from 8am onwards). I find that these tiny distractions take away a lot of the productivity.

!WINE !PIZZA

Thanks @jgiordi
Yeah, all those Teams messages. Those are some of the things you need to ignore because people ping you are message and think you will act now. Whereas it is just a distraction from the work that is really important. Sometimes you just need to get your head down and deliver what you intended to deliver.


Congratulations, @jgiordi You Successfully Shared 0.100 WINEX With @awah.
You Earned 0.100 WINEX As Curation Reward.
You Utilized 1/1 Successful Calls.

wine_logo


Contact Us : WINEX Token Discord Channel
WINEX Current Market Price : 0.150


Swap Your Hive <=> Swap.Hive With Industry Lowest Fee (0.1%) : Click This Link
Read Latest Updates Or Contact Us

What a view from your office!
You’ve clearly got it all under control 😁
!BBH

@awah! Your Content Is Awesome so I just sent 1 $BBH (Bitcoin Backed Hive) to your account on behalf of @fantagira. (1/1)

Hahaha, I am not sure about all under control. Just doing my best to keep my head above water!

It is a great view though. 😀

Just like we all do 😉

PIZZA!

$PIZZA slices delivered:
@jgiordi(1/5) tipped @awah

This already paid-out post was just upvoted by @nanast.
This post was created to allow this voter the oportunity to still upvote this content IF (s)he deems this content to be high quality.
Please don't use this post to self-upvote. You will get blacklisted if you do. And don't use it to upvote low quality content

This is a hive-archeology proxy comment meant as a proxy for upvoting good content that is past it's initial pay-out window.

image.png

Pay-out for this comment is configured as followed:

roleaccountpercentagenote
curator-0.0%curation rewards disabled
author@awah95.0%
dev@croupierbot2.5%author of hive-archology
dev@emrebeyler2.5%author of lighthive