A Scatterday post

November 14th, 2020

A Smattering of Things

First lets start with a picture:
Max That is max. He is a three legged cat. Our little chihuahua Shasta had to visit the Vet recently and Max is one of the animals they take care of.

With the current Virus situation they don't allow people in the office with their pets, they send someone out to get your pet and take notes on why they are seeing your pet. After seeing our little girl, they came out to get us and bring us inside to talk about what was going on with her.

Rather worrying when that happened. Shasta is doing fine, she has some neck and back issues but the meds seem to be helping her.

The staff always warns people about Max, that he is a grumpy cat. I have met Max a few times on visits to the vet. He has never acted grumpy to me. I think he sensed the concern I had for our little dog. While my wife was holding our Shasta, Max jumped up and sat on my lap.

I believe it was to try and help comfort me as we listened to the vet, and to let me know that she, (the vet), knew what she was doing. Shortly after Max jumped up, he must have sent a signal to all the other office pets. First one out was a three legged large Labrador type dog. He wandered over gave a sniff and then went to sit by the vets side.

Second one out was another big dog, he was pretty colorful and I wish I had taken a picture of him, Silver, grey, black, and brown splotches all over him. He was an older dog, he had neck and back problems, just like our Shasta. He carefully sat in front of the vet and then finished slowly lowering himself to a laying down in a sphinx style position. It was like he was letting us know that the pain can be managed.

Last one was a collie type of dog. He was blind, but he got around everyone and the two big dogs just fine. Our Shasta along with her neck and back issues is also losing her eye sight. It was like Max wanted me to know that she can still have a good life even with her problems and issues and that they were things that the vet knew and understood real well.

Max just laid in my lap the whole time gently purring and nudging my hand a bit when he wanted more pets from me. Max probably gave me more confidence in our choice for a Vet than any persons words or reviews could give.

I wanted to post about Max last weekend, but I felt that was to soon, I wanted to know our little Shasta was going to be okay, so far she is doing just fine.


Moving on from the caturday part of the post we approach the weekend plans which were made kind of yesterday. We got a little bit busy for Friday the 13th. The 13th has never bothered me I do not view it as a negative or bad number.

Friday was a fairly full day of shopping, and then we went out for dinner. I am glad we did, you see our favorite chef where we like to eat was cooking that evening. He has his own catering business, and only cooks at the restaurant infrequently. He is still the owners Menu Maker, the guy that builds dishes and then after customer feedback recommends they be added.

He had a new creation on Friday. It was a cast Iron pot pie type thing. I wish I had a picture of it but hunger called and I dug right in. It was topped with a biscuit/cracker kind of thing, it was really good, had the taste of a biscuit and a cracker. The filling was a combo of lamb and rib roast meat with peas, carrot pieces, and some small potato pieces and other pot pie type fillings. It was good and even though it looked like a small portion, it was just the right amount for me filling without an over filled feeling.

With all the shopping and the dinner Friday was pretty much spent for me. I did not get very much study time in on the Python language, only about an hour of game play, and no time at all on my Raspberry-Pi.

So for Saturday, (today), I planed on getting my votes out early, making my morning content comments, catching up on comments left, and doing this post, (well at the time I was not sure what I was going to post about). So far on track.

Later today, in the early afternoon, I'll play some computer games for an hour or so, then fire up the Raspberry-Pi and get a bit more familiar with it, and do some more Python learning. Then I am not sure what I will be doing.

For Sunday we will make a drive north for a few hours, futz around in the car seeing things maybe stopping for a few pictures and pretty much just doing the Sunday Drive thing. I often feel tired after the drives where before it did not take a lot out or much effort, as I age it seems to take more of a toll. Still it is a fun thing to do and I do enjoy our Sunday drives when we take them.

At some point I will have to get ready and prep my post for Monday the 16th, it will be my Mid month progress report. I like seeing where I am and where I am headed on Hive, the post is mostly for my benefit.

We still have not had our first big snow fall, it should be here any day now. The last two years the first ones were in the middle of November, when it does happen I'll have episode 2 of the Driveway Saga series to make. I like doing them also, reminders of the seasons past.

driveway 11-6-2020
That was pretty much our first dinky snowfall. Not much at all maybe an inch and a half, a typical snowfall for us, but they add up over the course of the season. That was from my smartphone and just a quick snap out the upstairs window.

Okay I think I have probably thoroughly bored you all enough with my Scatterday ramble.


It's not to late to go drop a comment on the weekend-engagement post if you are bored, or have a pet peeve,(that's this weekend topic), or just want to leave some comments and don't know where to go and make friends on hive, @galenkp's weekend engagement post is a great place to start

Tiny Picture links back to my blog:

Sort:  

Thank you for sharing your week!
It doesn't snow here so that's plenty!

We will have a lot more than that by the end of the season, but it is kind of fun watching it fall, it will get to a nice level where it looks really super nice for awhile then all of a sudden it seems that part is gone and it becomes Snowmageddon. (a real word).

!ENGAGE 10

Snowmageddon!!!
Oh, I wonder how that would look!!!
🥰🌺🤙
!ENGAGE 25

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Grrrr... Our vet of 24+ years is doing that shizz. I could not even be with our dog when we put her down. Back in May. I was madder than hell. They were told there would be no more business from us till they stopped with that policy. Same policy as yours. We even took Lil' Guy to a different vet when He almost died in June 20th from eating a piece of rope. And a 106.5 temp from the blockage. output.jpg

It would be different if it was something as deadly as they made us believe it was early on. I would be on board with the safety measures then...

I enjoy your postings. When I can find time to read them. LoL

Thank you. And yeah I looked at the CDC chart, they have no column for Covid-19 only deaths, they have one for Pneumonia and Influenza, and it took me forever to find what PIC stood for and that is the number they keep presenting, you take away the pneumonia and Flu numbers you get very few deaths.

I like the Vet we finally found, I just wish they were a little bit more aware of the human side of the equation. It scared the piss out of me when they said we needed to come in to talk to the vet, no mask for us, we don't wear them, they knew but still wanted us inside to listen. Fortunately she is still doing good on the medications.

That vet has a lot of 3 legged furry things running around! hehe. Sounds like you had a nice group of fluffy things to take your mind off what was worrying you. I am glad to hear your pup is feeling better. Molly went through some sort of back issue and it really messes there entire mood and routine up. Obviously Pepper was dealing with hearing loss and sight issues.. but you remember that. Ageing sucks. Like you said, the small things such as driving, are now a chore for us old people.. hehe. funny but true.

That potpie sounds awesome.. Now I am thinking maybe something like that for dinner here today. Maybe just the chicken version.. nothing fancy like your dish.

Looking forward to seeing the snow post when mother nature decides it's time. You have quite a few little pines or spruces growing in the circle and at the edge.. do you cut them down or just let the grow naturally?

The yard is pretty much all natural. No area has been mowed, and the ground it to rocky to have any real topsoil so nothing but a few flower pots for gardening efforts.

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 31 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
9

Thank you.