You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Weekend-engagement topic week 47: Favourite transport [answer and win hive]

This is actually easy for me, I had a nice truck at one time, then I got sick. I had to trade that truck for something a whole lot cheaper. It was traded for a 1996 Mitsubishi Mirage LS Coupe. I ended up loving that little piece of shit car. Who would have ever thought a $12,000 car could be so fun. It of course was a small car, I was single so I did not car. That little piece of shit car took me places that people with four wheel drive rigs feared to travel. I could straddle the ruts and ride on the ridges that others had left before. I loaded and loaded that trunk with rocks til the wheel closed on the wheel well, then took just enough rocks out so the wheels cleared the wheel wells. Oh man I have to tell you that was a fun run home. The things we young and dumb do. The front wheels were barely on the pavement. I had to pull over and transfer some rocks to the front in front of the passenger seat and the driver seat, of course making sure the break pedal was not blocked. Highly recommended that other do not do that.

I had that car from 1996 to 2012. I changed the tires twice a year and the oil twice a year. I had to replace the shocks and struts once, and had one incident with a rock poking a hole in my oil filter once that needed to be replaced. The air filter got change out once, that was after a volcanic ash fall and a lot of glacier silt build up. I survived having some kid run into the driver front quarter panel.

In and around town I got 30 MPG, and on straight Highway driving I got 36 MPG. If I wanted to pass someone, even though it was not a real fast car, there really was no problem doing so. I know all the reviews say other wise, but I could pass with no problem. The only thing that really failed on it was the LED panel for the clock and radio, but I didn't care about time then, still don't care about it, and the radio was hardly ever on.

Mine was the forest green color with the tailgate airfoil. Sorry no pictures but a google search will show what it looked like. I really did enjoy that car steady everyday driver, go anywhere, and pretty much problem free.

Sort:  

ended up loving that little piece of shit car

I've had cars I've said similar about.

I know the one, even that colour...There must have been a million of them around here. Good cars and it seems like your particular one was the little Mitsi that could! You certainly gave it a work out! Still, it lasted for a while and served you well...I declare this a legit answer!

!ENGAGE 20

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Lol that sounds like an awesome little car! I had a Pontiac many years ago it was a 92 I think, loved that thing! It held up so well, drove really smooth and had decent power and gas mileage! What did you load the car up with rocks for, traction? That's what it sounds like lol

To build a shale dry stack rock wall around a couple of planting areas. Creating a micro climate for my strawberries so the soil would be warmer.