What If I Had 1000 Dollars To Spend On The Weekend ...

FakahatcheeStrandPreserve_ghostorchids_2 (2)boarder_1.jpg

The $1000 weekend: A posting contest

Mission: To Spend $1000.00 This Weekend, Guilt Free!

Is this even possible? I mean, will it really be guilt free? When was the last time I splurged on anything for myself, especially at such a price? I really couldn't tell you, BUT the time has come to .. "Screw it, Let's do it!" (-Richard Branson)


My Day Started Off..

Like many other Saturday mornings, but this time there was a bit of a pep in my step. You see, I had booked an exclusive and remote adventure tour through the Fakahatchee Strand Preserve State Park, located on the South Western coast of Florida. Here my personal guide will be taking me on an all day trip through the dense swampy environment in search for the elusive and rare Ghost Orchid.


FDEP MAP - PreservePark.JPG

The Ghost Orchid (Dendrophylax lindenii) is highly sought after by poachers looking to add this beauty of a species to their private collections. It is believed that there are only about 350 of these plants that have been documented within the Fakahatchee Preserve. More monitoring, preservation efforts and regulation need to be established to ensure their survival in the wild.

Information-for-the-BICY-website-1-7_1 (2)_08.jpg

Today I will set out on an adventure of a lifetime, in hopes of photographing this beauty and capturing visual memories that will last forever. I will also do my part in preserving the area for others to enjoy, for years to come.

$1000.00 Will Be Spent In The Following Way..

1 - Gas Up (50.00)
2 - Breakfast (7.00)
3 - Lunch For Trip (10.00)
4 - Guide and Equipment Rental (525.00)
5 - Gift Shop - Toy for Molly (25.00)
6 - Photo Development - (20.00)
7 - Local Artist Find for Wife - Orchid Painting - (50.00)
8 - End Of Day Celebratory Beer - (8.00)
9 - Leaving Nature As I Found Her For Others To Enjoy - Donation to Preservation Efforts - (305.00)
10 - Memories of this Great Adventure - (FREE)

Information-for-the-BICY-website-1-7_1.jpg

Source - NPS

FakahatcheeStrandPreserve_ghostorchids_2.jpg

Source - FDEP

Hive text divider.png

That's One Thousand Green Backs Well Spent!

Sort:  

Great post and 349 words. Ninja-level contest entering mate! 😁

I tried my best to pay attention to those rules! hehe. It was my OCD coming through.

untitled.gif

Second time I've seen this gif in two days. Not tired of it yet. 😀

Hahaha.. Yeah it's a good one for sure. Still making me laugh too. 😆

Oh, I like the way you think!!

Wait! What did we eat? I hope it was something good!

That was well spent and I am sure the wife *and Molly agree! I have never heard of the Ghost Orchid, but, just look at her! She is a beauty! Congratulations, Brad!

We are always eating. One of the highlights of my life anymore. lol. Oh just you wait.. I got an AWESOME photo of Molly the other day posing with an Orchid. Well awesome for the old Molly standard of posing. lol. I'll tag you on the post when I actually write it and post it.

She is a beauty, and even though this was a fantasy trip I really would like to make it a reality trip. One day.. One day.

Thank you SO MUCH for that Tip too. You didn't have to do that. I will have to pass along the sentiment someday soon and pay it forward 😁

It's fun to do and always unexpected. That makes it better.

Besides that, you deserved it!!

Enjoy you day!! Mwah!! Have I told you that you have the best attitude??

Awwwww... You ARE tooooo kind to me sometimes Denise. But your kindness makes me smile and say life isn't all that bad when we surround ourselves with such awesome people. Good Vibes! 😁😊😘

Attitude? You know what they say...

untitled.gif

Haha! Yes!! :))

Awesome thought about mother nature
Remember she's the one supplying us the beers😁😁

Content is great, you sound exciting
I'm connecting now
@khingstan Cares 🤴✌️

Hahaha.. Indeed. Beer is directly from nature. Thank you for pointing that one out! 😁

Smiles 😁😁
You're most welcome

This is so absolutely awesome! I just want to make one change...
Those memories...

10 - Memories of this Great Adventure - (PRICELESS)

What stunning flowers these are! I can understand why it's a trip of a lifetime. Admirable that you also set aside some cash to donate for conservation of the species. 👌

Haha.. Yeah my original post was going to say that, then I remembered I had only $1000 to spend. Priceless memories would have pushed me WAY over the edge.. Depending on how one defines priceless.. Without price or price times infinity. hehehe 🤣😁

I know what you mean haha, perhaps we could say "invaluable memories?" It's a difficult thing to define I suppose, but that orchid is pretty freaking cool, I also want to see one!

I've only seen them in photos, but I have plans to change that. I think they also are mixed into the plot of a movie called Adaptation (weird movie staring Nicholas Cage). Seeing one in South Africa is probably not legally an option, but hey.. head to Florida and maybe you'll be lucky enough to view one in the up close. The memories may be "Invaluable" hehe.

Nice! That is pretty awesome. I'd probably blow my $1000 on whiskey and records. Who knows though. I am sure there would be a road trip in there somewhere!

Hahahaha.. Yeah you would! That's a good plan too. 🤗

The most important item on the list . . . !BEER

Amen to that. I should have started the day out with a beer!!! lol 😆


You’ve Been Upvoted By Hive-113748 ~ The Orchid Lovers Community!
We LOVED your post featuring Orchids and are thrilled that you chose our community to share it in!
Thank you :-)

The Orchid Lovers Community

A place for people who Love Orchids!

The most important thing is to preserve nature, I remembered the famous butterfly effect.

YES! Best to preserve what we have before it is no longer. 😁

Haha, that's awesome! Glad you were able to save $8.00 for a beer! and if you don't find the orchid, maybe you'll find Bigfoot!

If I find a happy hour location, maybe that $* will be enough for two beers! 😁

Bigfoot in south Florida???

untitled.gif

🤣

Memories of this Great Adventure - (FREE)

The best part :)

Our memories keep us going sometimes. Making new ones is important too. I have lots of great memories that I cherish and am grateful for 😊

Our memories keep us going sometimes.

That's absolutely true, having memories and building new ones is what somehow keeps us alive.😊

The best bit is FREE, your memories and I hope that you would find a ghost orchid to marvel at.

One day I will make this trip come true and will hopefully get to see the infamous and elusive Ghost Orchid. Those would be some awesome memories 😊

I need to research that, the next time I am back in Florida

You are going to have a well planned adventure with this money. Donating for nature preservation is a good idea

I think I need to make my vision a reality someday soon. Florida is not too far away and the Ghost Orchids need to be seen before some butt head people snatch them up out of their home. Preservation is key and more people need to make efforts in their daily lives to try and protect what we have. Every little thing helps! 😁

Preservation is key and more people need to make efforts in their daily lives to try and protect what we have

Yes, instead of pointing towatds others we need to stand up for playing our own part. This is the way we can save our ecosystem

Oh that's an adventure of a lifetime indeed, especially since it would be free. Hehe

Indeed my friend.. Indeed. Free is good anymore. lol

Thank you for supporting THE WEEKEND community with your entry.

separation (7).png

No problem.. My Orchid Pleasure! 😁 It was fun and I don't enter a lot of those contests. I just couldn't resist this one though!!


Hey @bdmillergallery, here is a little bit of BEER from @handofzara for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.