You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Weekend-engagement topic week 45: Only three items [answer and win hive]

in Weekend Experiences3 years ago (edited)

🥘, ⛺️ , 🗡
Food- What do I need to survive in the forest or anywhere for that matter. Yup you said it food. The average human (I’m one of them) cannot last too long out there without food so the first thing I would consider packing is some food. You could argue that one could hunt or scavenge out in the wilderness for things to eat but not everyone is equipped with the know-how to decide what plants 🌱 are edible or how to hunt. Wouldn’t want to be surprised or get the runs because I ate the wrong thing.

Shelter(tent)- Baring having a cottage, condo or cave in the woods I’d probably need a tent. It’s mobile so I could move again anytime if the location I’m at becomes unsuitable due to wild animals or some act of nature. I wouldn’t want to be exposed to the elements out there at night or day for that matter. I’d say a tent would be a very useful thing to have.

A knife or Machette- This could come in very handy in the woods. If you’re not already aware knives are useful for cutting, peeling, self defense etc. I may need to peel an apple 🍎 or cut firewood. You can’t deny that having a machette in the wilderness would be pretty handy.

Sort:  

Excellent...Don't forget to explain your answer as per the topic post.

@galenkp Oops. Sorry about that.

Lol...Figured. Just do an edit to your comment.

Done 😆. Thanks @galenkp

Food, shelter and protection...Seems legit.

Also, I'm pretty aware what knives are for and how to use them in all applications, but thanks for the clarification. Lol.

!ENGAGE 20

@galenkp Lol. Thanks. Re: the knives. Just wanted to make sure 😆. But you’re right most people know what a knife is for sure. I feel some people may not know what a machette is though. Do you agree?

Hmm maybe...I guess it depends on a person's experiences. Me? Well, I know what this stuff is, how to use it and when...So it's all good. Thanks for joining in this week and I hope you'll be back!

I’ll be back untitled.gif

Lol.

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Good choices here! It's definitely not something many people are aware of what is edible and what isn't. I'm preparing a little homemade book on the things locally that are edible and what's not. It's a fun thing to do and what I think many people should do, lots of colleges and universities have this type of information available online somewhere from students working on projects and stuff so it was pretty easy to find!

I would hope everyone knows what a knife is used for hahaha we aren't that pathetic of a society yet! I imagine one day they might get to that level lol.

Thanks @cmplxty. Would love to see your list of local edibles when your book is done.

It's been on the back burner for a little while but I'll make some progress on it soon. I thankfully saved the link that I was using to get all my information! I just need to figure out how to get it bound into a little book.

All the best @cmplxty .