WE118 - A Weekend with Arnold Schwarzenegger

in Weekend Experiences2 years ago

I have to say that Arni has always been a fascinating and very special personality for me. In fact, he was born only a few kilometers as the crow flies from here, where I am sitting right now and where I also grew up.
He was born in the Graz area, in the small town of Thal, and so he was always seen as a Grazer and Styrian. And that is exactly what fascinated me so much! Out of this small nest into the big world, Mister Universe, movie star, governor, marry into the Kennedy family

So I would love to spend our weekend together here in the region. The Styrian boy and the girl from Graz. Both once left in their youth to make their fortune in Munich, that is something we have in common. Well, after that the life stories went on a little bit different ;-) When he came to Munich I wasn't born yet and when I came to Munich he was already a big world famous star on the other side of the big pond.

I would probably ask him a lot of things. Whether he, like most people from Graz, also felt that homesickness for our hometown never ceased to exist? Because that is something I have experienced myself and also heard from many other emigrants.
Graz is such a special place, comparable to nothing. And even if we like it very much elsewhere, there is always this melancholy in us.

My uncle once told me that he always saw Arnie at the bus stop when he was young. And also that a lot of people had loughed at him and thought he was stupid because of his bodybuilding.
Well, those were completely different times. Remember Schwarzenegger is born back in 1947! Bodybuilding was still unknown in our country. And one thing Arnie was and is definitely not, namely stupid. No, quite the opposite.

And that's why I'd like to ask him how he manages to go his way against all odds and realize his dreams, to be a "Sryrian oak". I mean, to make his way to world stardom and governor from here, if that's not an accomplishment?

Of course, we would take a walk around Thalersee, which is right near his birthplace, Thal. The lake where he proposed to his beloved Maria Shriver in 1985. Coincidentally, I was there last week and so I even have a photo of the small romantic lake with boats, how appropriate:

Most people probably would love to spend this weekend with Arnold Schwarzenegger on the movie set, to be there when it's "Action!". But I would actually like to use this incredible opportunity to get to know the person Arnie. Eating Wiener Schnitzel and Apfelstrudel, drinking a "Verlängerten" (Coffee) and enjoying the nature and air of our homeland. To see him laugh and above all to hear his stories and wisdom first hand.

While researching this post I found out that there is actually an Arnold Schwarzenegger Mindset book, unfortunately only in English, but I think I will read it, maybe this way my questions will be answered, until the day @galenkp arranges a real meeting for me with Arnie ;-) Ha! And then I have to ask him why the book was not published in our native language!


This was my entry to the weekend-engagement concept 118 by Galenkp
Community guidelines do not allow bilingual posts, so you find the german original written text within the comment section.


I am a blogger from Austria, founder of the Hive Memorial Forest Community, admin of the Introduce Your City Community, active in ecency discord and here and there all around this beautiful blockchain.
photos by @beeber
mostly translated with www.deepl.com (free version)

Sort:  

Terminator is one of the best movies, that he has acted in. It also suits his persona in some ways. Nice and humble guy, despite having achieved sucess. Nice inspiration @beeber .

Loading...

Es gibt auch ein aus meiner Sicht sehr gute Autobiographie von Arnie "Total Recall". Sie wurde auch einigermaßen hörbar als Hörbuch vertont wurde.

Hier der Link zu Audible. (Keine Angst kein RefLink :-))
https://www.audible.de/search?searchNarrator=Arnold+Schwarzenegger&source_code=AFNORBN051216903Q&site=3582&ref=101248&awc=14444_1662762945_ea09e980f04304fcc4f2b0b1c9d27828

Gut zu wissen danke, mache grade eine audible Pause weil schon sooo viele Hörbücher, aber danach werd ich mal hinein hören.
Hätt auch kein Problem mit einem refferal link gehabt :-)

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

This post has been manually curated by @bhattg from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating to @indiaunited. We share 100 % of the curation rewards with the delegators.

Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP.

Read our latest announcement post to get more information.

image.png

Please contribute to the community by upvoting this comment and posts made by @indiaunited.

I love Arnie, he is an example of someone so driven to achieve his goals that it is amazing. It was particularly pertinent how he said that his parents wanted him to stay in Graz and live his life there. But he said that was THEIR goal in life, not his. He was so fascinated by America and was going to go there no matter what.

Great post!

Thank you Steve :-)
But thats what most parents wish? And even now, after his motherboard died, he is often here in Graz.
Every strong oak needs strong roots!

Oh I didn't know that, but it is so true. Did you see Arnie's speech that broke the internet? It's really awesome.

The one about earth saving?

Growing up, Arnold (As Terminator) was one of my childhood idol. Watching his movies was a great joy even before I got to know about him as a person.

Difficult to decide all great movies, but I think my favorite was True Lies

I haven't seen that, though it's possible i gave but didn't take note of the title.

Arnold is one of my favorite actors. I started knowing him because of his movie, Conan the Barbarian and Terminator. I cannot forget his voice too, sometimes me and some family members try to impersonate it.

Thanks for sharing. Hopefully you will meet and talk to him in person. 😊

!1UP

Thank for "1upping" !LUV

Hmmm, I am not sure, but think the first movies have been synchronized? Never watched them in English

HASTA LA VISTA, BABY ! :-D

The pleasure is mine. 😊

"I'LL BE BACK" 😁

1UP-PIZZA.png

You have received a 1UP from @thecuriousfool!

The @oneup-cartel will soon upvote you with:
@bee-curator, @vyb-curator, @pob-curator, @neoxag-curator, @cent-curator
And they will bring !PIZZA 🍕.

Learn more about our delegation service to earn daily rewards. Join the Cartel on Discord.

PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@curation-cartel(11/20) tipped @beeber (x1)

Learn more at https://hive.pizza.

This is an interesting adventure, the place is very romantic. Spending a weekend with Arnold must be something different. Good choice, I would also choose it.

Have you seen galenkp's list? My second choice would have been Leonardo da Vinci :-)
Thanks for stopping by !ALIVE

@isabelpena! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @beeber. (2/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

Thank you very much friend.