You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Weekend-engagement topic week 45: Only three items [answer and win hive]

Good choices. I especially like the tarp. God knows I've slept under a tarp draped over my motorcycle plenty of times in 'adverse weather'.

I used to say that you could drop me in the middle of the Bob Marshall wilderness naked and if I had the right knife and one little piece of magnesium I'd walk out with no problems.

I'm older now, I need a LITTLE more stuff...

Sort:  

Lol that sounds like a rough night sleep under a tarp!

I found this meme today and thought of you hahaha

4A8435F9-77C0-4DE3-A070-F3135661BD8D.jpeg

This is gold. Love it!

Ahahahahaha! Rodger DeCoster took the dirt motorcycle world by storm in the mid 60s. After another win on Wide World of Sports Jim McCay asked how he got so good so fast. In his less than perfect English (he is Swedish) he said "I learned early two throttle postitions. Eat and starve." with example!

Interesting, what do you do with the magnesium?

Scrape it with good steel and you get a nice long hot spark. It really works well!

Interesting. I didn't know that magnesium sparked. I've seen flint and magnesium combo fire starters but the ones I've seen you had to scrape the magnesium off with a knife and form a pile in your fire bundle, then hit the flint with steel to create a spark and light the magnesium. The Magnesium catches fire and burns super hot and helps start your fire bundle. Is this what you're talking about the magnesium and flint combo or do you mean just magnesium? I didn't know that magnesium sparked by itself.