You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Weekend-engagement week 68: Phone photos or make a meme

I always wear armored riding gear with helmet, gloves and boots. I haven't been down on the road for over 40 years but still know that it's inevitable.

Or did you mean falls down in a parking lot? That I have done, a couple of times with this bike. I can get it picked up, but usually there is some one right nearby to help with picking it up.

Sort:  

When talking about bikers my parents always used to say " There are two kinds - those that have come off and those that haven't come off ....Yet" They were big into Yamahas for many years. Those things are often way heavier than they look. Trying to lift up even a 600cc for me is hectic, I don't know how people lift the massive ones.

The ST Owners Club would say "It's not if, it's when you are going to fall down". They also used 30,000 miles AND three years to call a rider 'experienced'.

There is a technique to picking up a big bike. Like this:

Yup I guess there's risk inherent in all things just to different degrees, bikes leaning towards one end. Over here the majority of the time it's caused by idiot car drivers who don't check the road & especially their blind spots properly and taxi drivers - taxi drivers here do not give two hoots about anything.

Shot for the link, I'll have a watch and keep it in mind incase I ever need to lift a bike again (doubtful)

Here it is usually a left turning vehicle that 'didn't see' the motorcycle. I'd guess that would translate to right turns. I wonder if anyone has ever checked the frequency numbers for left and right drive?

That would be interesting to have a look at the stats. I was driving behind a few Harley's this morning, stopped at a light and they were in their full leathers in this heat of 30 degrees.

I don't know how they do it, but I guess the second skin is worth how uncomfortable that must become.

I wore leathers when that's all there was-Now I wear Kevlar and Ballistic Nylon, it's a lot cooler and only gives up a small percentage of slide resistance. I have a pair of blue jeans that have knee pads and kevlar patches in the probable spots. It's the best overall solution that I've found.

Road rash is a terrible thing to experience, and leather slides really well.

Wow! That's good to hear, good to know you have had experience