You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Weekend Engagement : Breaking Out the Crockpot

I have that precise crockpot and mine shows a little wear and tear, too.

I'm German but sort of with Hattie. I'm not a real big fan of 'kraut. Except of course on Reuben Sandwiches...

So I'd make pulled pork with that nice looking roast. 'Cask' the pork with mustard, salt and pepper heavy. About 6 hours, pull it out and shred it with two forks. Put it back in the pot for a half hour of simmering with BBQ sauce on it. I'm ready now and I don't even have a roast on hand....

Sort:  

That sounds delicious. We actually just got another pork roast from our farm CSA...and the weather is going cold next week. I think I'm going to try this recipe out; nothing like getting a crock pot going in the morning to have food to eat at the end of a cold day.

I live in Yuma, AZ now where it never gets really cold, but this time of year some memory of shivering and cold toes makes me go to the crock pot! Soups, stews, chili and roasts. Pork and beef. I really am making myself hungry!

Nice...we're in Wisconsin so the cold is just around the corner. Today is beautiful however, and we have some steaks from that CSA that I'm going to grill out today for a possible last grill out. And I got some new beer to try...can't wait!