You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Weekend-engagement week 13: Ask me anything

Hmmmmm. My biggest regret.

I try to not over examine the past, and I've got damn few real regrets. I'm guessing the biggest of those would be not serving in the Navy. I enlisted, took the physical and was sworn in when I was 20. Before I went active I lost my right eye and that was that. I really think 4 years in the Navy would have helped me order my life at an earlier age. I was pretty lost in 1971.

My biggest victory? Surviving. I've lived pretty fast at times and taken some outrageous chances. I'm still here. For the win!

Sort:  

I think a few have this regret, not joining the military; It is a really good way to add perspective to a young person's life and some discipline. This is why I'm an advocate for compulsory military service like some countries have. I think everyone in Australia should have to do a year between 18 and 19 years old with a call up period of 15 years afterwards, should the need arise. Just my opinion.

I could go with that plan. Given the 15 year call up period, that would really work.

I've said often that any wars America fights should be fought with draftees. If the mothers are behind their sons and daughters fighting then you KNOW the cause is just. We have the most professional standing military in the history of earth, which makes it way too easy to use.

If you carry a hammer around with you everywhere you go, sooner or later you are going to find a nail that needs to be driven in (or back in). Too easy.

I really do like your plan.

Yep, you guys have some serious firepower; Luckily Australia and America are friends.

Yeah. I like the weapons and systems development I really, really do. But I honestly believe that the large military lends itself to 'problem solving' problems that really aren't ours.

There's that of course and America has a long history of doing so. I see it as good and bad but it also lends itself to corruption doesn't it. Wars for the wrong reasons.

Yes it does. My all time favorite is lobbing 173 Cruise Missiles (and thereby exposing for the first time the launch platform) into Libya to cover a blow job the President got in a closet.

Must have been a good blowie.