You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Checkmate and slaving away

That's crazy. Really crazy

I keep my house between 26 and 27 C when the weather is hot. 2 reasons it is that warm: Cost and temperature differential. Walking out into 40 C is stressful at best.

In the winter it changes. I do not have central heat so my winter temps are really dependent on the outdoor temps. I have an air fryer that has a 18C low temp safety switch on it and I occasionally have to light the range to bring the temp up a little to use the thing :)

Sort:  

It was a weird story. the guy has a peat-fired furnace and peat - so heating his house is essentially free for him. So... he just burns it :D

Ok - this is the second time in two days I have heard "air fryer" - what the hell is it?

That is weird.

Air fryer is an appliance that emulates deep frying using air instead of oil. You put just a teeny bit of oil on the food and get nearly the same taste and texture.

Mine is also a small oven so I can roast and bake and toast without heating up the whole kitchen. An important consideration in our summer.

Hmmm--- mmm - I think I am going to have to look into this black magic device..

I certainly like mine. I most often make french fries. Slice a potato, put just a light coating of oil on it, pop it in the oven and in 20 minutes you have french fries. Great for fish and chips, too. The fish takes less time than the potato so leave a little room and set the timer....

I've made onion rings and egg rolls that turned out just fine!

I love fish and chips (Australians do) and have never made them because I need a deep fryer. I think I will see what is on offer here for a dry fryer :)