You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Weekend-engagement topic week 45: Only three items [answer and win hive]

Sounds like you are living in a great spot! I’m hoping to live somewhere like that someday where we are situated far enough away from people that it’s not out of the question that we wouldn’t get visitors on our road unless we knew them, but not so far out of the way they would need a 4x4 to get there lol.

Hatchets and machetes are crucial for survival stuff, good to see more people are in the mindset of this stuff and choose these things than I thought. That’s awesome!

Sort:  

I have lived much of of my life out of town and in the woods, and it was a bit inconvenient when my kids were in school, but the things they learned and the experiences they had with nature were worth all the miles I drove to go get a gallon of milk!
I bought this house because it was all on one floor and very handicap accessible, but it has turned out to be so much more than that for me. I can't get out into the wilderness like I used to, but having nature up close right out my window is a great way to enjoy my retirement years!

I'm all in for an ax. I like using it when I need it! Hatchets also, yes!

Yeah an axe is a best choice for long term stuff. You can do a lot with them! Potentially even craft more hatchets if you can find some iron and stuff lol

Yes, it didn't occurred to me that I can craft more hatches with it. I love working with wood!

Me too! We’ve got these fantastic pieces dry and ready to turn into something nice! Amazing looking maple, I’m excited and nervous to do something with it lol.

7E10BABF-4DB4-4346-85E3-D2E4ECB069FB.jpeg

Ahhh! They look so nice and inviting in their own way. I wish I had more space now and energy to play with wood.....but soon I will.
Will you let me/us see the results when you'll be done? Feel free to tag me if I'm not around.
Have fun and creativity while on it!

I thought about an axe as well. Unfortunately my axe is very heavy.. so I decided on my hatchet instead(which already lives in my backpack fortunately). But, if you wanted to carry it, that would be so much better!

Yes, I am a petite person and I either use an ax or if It is too much trouble, I go for the hatchet!

I'd say hatchet is the better call for this situation. Unless of course you won't be moving around much!

With this hernia now, I opt-in for hatchet!

Yeah hatchet is a good choice for sure! Lightweight but is perfect to do some of the work like cutting through stuff. I think we go for hatchet more here in the northern climes but the southern people will probably opt for a machete or something lighter since their trees and stuff they tend through is a lot thinner. Could be totally off on that too though lol

That’s a good point, I hadn’t thought of that. But I wouldn’t know any better 😂 having both a machete and a hatchet ain’t bad either though; they’re both pretty light weight