You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Weekend Writing Prompt, A Little Too Close To The Bone This Time Round!

in Weekend Experiences8 months ago

Hey man, good to stumble upon your post! I haven't kept up with you in a while, going to look what you've been up to after finishing the comment here.

This is a tough quandry but these days, it's something that so many of us have in the back of our mind. I think that I'm lucky in that I've got a few different things I've got going for a "job". I know what you mean though, coming up with a plan and tossing the thoughts by the better half is crucial! I know mine would be the same, honest and an important person in the whole discussion and topic. With the things companies are doing these days, it's never a bad thing to think about what would happen if we found ourselves out of a job one day.

12 hour shifts, particularly night shifts, are indeed very difficult. I've done a number of those in my days that's for sure! My worst one was 24 hours straight. It was utterly miserable lol. I was so lucky in that I got a break to sleep a little bit between the batches of work. I was fucking delirious by the time I got home though, I'm so lucky that I was riding the train at the time so I could snooze a tiny bit on the way back. If I had to drive after that, I likely would have just slept in my truck for an hour or two so that it wasn't a life threatening situation lol

Sort:  

Yeah the crazy hours we sometimes undertake can seem insane with hindsight. The train was a good idea, I have a lot of colleagues who have fallen asleep while driving after a 7-7 nightshift, it's scary stuff.

I think it is the combination of intensity of work, age and health that have made it utterly infeasible to continue. I have a feeling my world is about to open up in massive, unexpected ways. I suspect I will see some difficult times, especially financially at the start.

I just have this feeling though, that if I can get my health stuff under control I am about start an incredible journey.

Thanks so much for the time, words and encouragement my friend. I really appreciate you 😎