That early morning, I wished I were a girl

Happy weekend to you all!

Seeing the first prompt of the Weekend Experience #210 made me smile. It says:

Have you ever wanted to be the opposite gender for a period of time and if so why?

The answer to that question is a very loud YES. My wish to be a girl for a period of time didn't happen once or twice; it happened many times, especially when I was growing up living in my family house.

We are 5 siblings to my parents, 3 girls and 2 boys, and we came in the following order:

  • First child: girl
  • Second child: girl
  • Third child: boy
  • Fourth child: boy
  • Last child: girl.

There was a particular day when we had arranged to go to the farm very early in the morning. The arrangement was made by my dad, and four of us except the last born were to go to the farm to weed the grasses. Early that morning, my dad got up as early as 6:00 am, got into our rooms, and woke us up to prepare for the farm. Oh yeah, he wanted us to go very early to come back very early because he had a party to attend by 3:00 pm that day.

With frowns on our faces, we sluggishly woke up and began to pick up our stuff and change into farm clothes.

1001209326.jpg
We were doing that, and before we knew it, a strong breeze began to blow, the gradually brightening weather became as dark as midnight, and rain began to fall—all within 10 minutes.

It was a prayer answered for us. We began to jubilate and fell back into our beds to enjoy the cool, dark, and rainy weather. The rain fell heavily, with drops on the roof giving a heavenly feeling, and almost everyone of us launched back into deep slumber. It was a good thing for us, the children, but we knew that Dad wasn't happy with the way the weather came and spoiled his plan. We didn't care even though we all agreed to go to farm.

Unfortunately, the rain only lasted for an hour, and when it was over, my dad came to our room and called just me and my immediate younger brother to follow him to the farm, leaving the girls behind.

"Why?" We were bold enough to ask him because the girls were jubilating already and making fun of us.

According to him, the weather was too cold for the girls, so he decided to drop them and take only the two of us.

I wouldn't say I hated my dad for that, but I was so pained and wished I were a girl, at least for just that day. For God's sake, the girls were older than us and they should be able to bear whatsoever the coldness.

We went to the farm that day, and everywhere was damn cold.
1001209349.jpg
The water on the leaves was so annoying, and the sun didn't shine throughout our stay in the farm to help warm us up.

Thanks!

Click here to join the fun.

All Photos are mine