Let's Roll

If this is your first time reading me, I must tell you that I study medicine in Cuba. Studying medical sciences is not an easy task anywhere in the world. Many studies place this career among the most difficult. Adding to that, my country is in a crisis like never before.

In that scenario, studying alone is not an option. It is necessary to seek some alternatives to contribute to the family economy.

Here comes the other problem, there are very few part-time job opportunities (not to say none). In my country, there are no chains like McDonald's that offer jobs to university students.

Nevertheless, I have always looked for ways to generate some extra income to help at home.

I have been a tourist guide in the summer. When I was younger, I hung and distributed propaganda for restaurants and events. I worked moving boxes at a famous restaurant in my city and even worked cleaning cars.

I have no shame in saying that I have done tasks that could be considered among the worst jobs there are. This has allowed me not only to gain experiences and contacts but also to contribute to the family economy and alleviate the work and effort of my parents.

There is a job that I haven't mentioned yet, and it's the one that excites me the most to do today. It is a job position that emerged recently in my country, well, it gained momentum recently.

This job has allowed me to get to know my city more thoroughly. Before, I only knew the places near my house, but with this job, I have ventured into every street that remains part of my story.

From Old Havana, with its white sheets hanging from the balconies (if this phrase is from a song) to the farthest areas of my city, where there are few buildings and lots of greenery.

Still don't know what job I'm talking about? Well, I'm describing the Delivery job.

This job came to me in a peculiar way. If it came to me, I wasn't looking for a job at that moment.

My neighbor sells some things and needed someone to deliver them. Since I didn't have a vehicle to move around, but knowing that the payment for delivering the items was lucrative, I decided to rent a motorcycle from a friend for a day and see what happened.

That's how this story began, in which today I have delivered everything, all over the city and in almost any vehicle.

I have been doing this job for over three years now (being a medical student during the pandemic made it easy for me to move around, so it was an advantage I wanted to take advantage of).

On this corner, we had a quite serious accident a few months ago; it's always difficult when we pass by there.

It is impossible for me to tell you how many kilometers I have traveled. I have delivered using public transport, my dad's car, bicycle, and even on foot.

If before I told you that knowing the city was one of the advantages of this job, I believe that the biggest advantage is the connections made.

Having to contact and coordinate the details of deliveries with clients, those contacts remain.

It is not certain in which delivery you can be surprised. For example, my barber, who was a client I delivered a television to, offered to pay for the delivery with a free haircut when he saw that it had been a long time since I had one.

You might think it was a coincidence. But...

My sister's manicure came from a delivery, and the lady we buy coffee from (she makes it artisanal on her farm) I also met through a delivery.

It's incredible how my agenda has expanded as time and kilometers have passed.

Of course, everything is not rosy. Like any job, it has its downsides. Among them, I can mention the time between deliveries, some clients, but above all, the increasing insecurity in my country.

Despite this, it's a job I enjoy doing—going out, driving, arriving at a place I might not know (initially, I didn't even know how to get there, but luckily MapsMe is a great ally). Delivering something that someone eagerly awaits and perhaps making a connection along the way.

All of the above motivates me, regardless of any fatigue I may feel or the payment I receive (which, I must say, is quite good for a student like me).

Is there any map application you recommend? It should at least have the option to download maps and use them offline, considering I'm from Cuba.

In addition to all this, I must mention the surreal situations one encounters on the streets of a bustling city. Here's a slogan from a well-known rum brand:

"Less crying, more dancing" (literally translated as "Less crying and more 'perreo'").


I know that each country has its peculiarities, so I'd like to ask if you've ever done this type of work? If so, tell me a bit about your experience.

I believe that if you're new to a city or want to explore your own city more, this is a great way to do it because you're literally getting paid to roam around. At least in my city, you can start doing deliveries on a bicycle and gradually improve (ironically, it's one of the jobs with the most room for growth in my country, even though I consider it only part-time work).

For now, I bid you farewell. I need to make the most of the weekend because this week was quite tough. In fact, it was challenging for me to be present here, so I need to catch up a bit. Don't forget to leave a comment to let me know about delivery services in your city—I'd love to hear about other parts of the world.


All the photos were taken during my city tour, to be used exclusively in these posts.

Posted Using InLeo Alpha