You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Weekend-engagement topic week 43: Your food love or hate - Win hive

Mayonn.. Mayyyy... <-- totally different story there. I can't even spLeL without vomiting in my mouth. Not much I won't eat. I'm allergic to avocado so those are out. There's a few things I don't like so much probably like you and pesto. But I can only think of two foods I won't eat. Lobster and Mayo..nnaaaaay.... that.

Lobster at least doesn't make me cringe when I see it though. The other, oh man! Just telling you about my disgust for it I swear I can smell it now.

Good morning from the east coast of the US, happy whatever day this is. I see you're from South Africa. I'm sure you have already but just in case, have you ran into @lizelle, @jaynie, @fionasfavourites (she spells favorite with a U... silly Fiona), @zoed and I know I'm leaving a buncha Hive ladies out.

Sort:  

Well @dandays, I remember hearing you mention my name and other fellow South Africans; favourite is the pucker correct original English spelling I have to tell you so don't go calling my fellow country woman silly😉 or I'll put you in detention and make yoh write that word out 500 times as punishment.
I know it's almost the next weekend so don't even know if I'm allowed to comment on a Thursday but...
My not so favourite food that will never pass my lips are things like tripe, pressed tongue, sweet meats and the list goes on. I love crispy succulent lamb chops but when my kids were small they asked me at the dinner table:

what part of the animal does this come from?

That put me on a plantbased menu for weeks afterwards!

I succumbed though at the next braai (BBQ) so I'm a bad girl blindly not wanting to know where it comes from.
I'm afraid I'd make the worst farmer's wife!
Sooo sorry for the long delay but something kept bugging me till I remembered I'd seen this notification!
Need to set up Hive bot as Gina bot talks way too much nonsense, then I would never miss your name being mentioned!

favourite is the pucker correct original English spelling...

Alright, firstly, you know I'm American, right? It's that joint to the west of you who makes their own rules, rewrites the English language, and changes sports wording around to how we think soccer and football should be played. Stuff like that.

And someone somewhere decided awhile back deveined five vowels is one too many for 'favorite.'

💖

But what in the heck is "pucker correct??"

Haha that is a new expression signed sealed and stamped by an Afrikaans speaking lady from the east coast of South Africa🙃 We also make up our own English vocabulary here and it can get very confusing having no less than 11 official languages in SA!

Hello Dandays

Thanks for the reply. Oh gosh, I don't think I could live without that stuff you hate, so my pesto is your mayo...
I'm sorry for making you want to hurl.

Ooh thanks, I'll definitely check out the other SA ladies on hive. I have run into Joan Stewart who is a biltong addict. I learned that from last week's weekend engagement.

Have a good one.

Happy Easter!

💖