Unseen Beauty of LAPUKAN

Located at Barangay Daantabogon, Tabogon, Cebu

blog4 picture front.jpg

MY SATURDAY BLAST
Hello my Hive Family. How are you today? I hope all of you are doing well. I would like to share to all of you the amazing view near my workplace. It is not famous, but my heart really struck to this wonderful sight.

I have a lot of household task every weekend like washing clothes, cleaning the house, cleaning the courtyard, cooking food for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. But, I always give time to myself to rest after finishing the entire task. I wander and visited the quiet Lapukan and bring food to eat while enjoying the wind and the ambience while sitting on the native hut together with my two nieces, Shannel Mae and Nathalia Nicole who are both allergy to the camera.

blog4 picture1.jpg

According to the learner who lives near the area, the local people of Sitio Ibabao which is a part of barangay Daantabogon called the place Lapukan.

blog4 picture2.jpg

I honestly do not know the history why they call it that name, but maybe the folks who lived in the community get its name by its landscape and its water. The seawater is not clear when it is low tide; however, it is crystal clear during high tide. In addition, its coastline does not have sands and pebbles just like other beach. However, the elevation is low that is why it is just easy for the local people to jump and do swimming.

blog4 picture13.jpg
The path going to Lapukan
blog4 picture14.jpg
It is just a walk from the street. It is just near the elementary and secondary school. There is a church with a signage in front "The Church of Tabogon" and a small native house on the side of the rough road going to this wonderful sight.

blog4 picture3.jpg

The stunning scenery is my view every ten o’clock in the morning until one o’clock in the afternoon at work from Monday to Friday. I witnessed its exquisiteness for almost ten years and I never get tired of admiring its beauty every day. I can feel the sea breeze, the cool air; it is so uplifting and calming. It is so inspiring to work when the ambiance is so motivating and peaceful.

blog4 picture4.jpg

I always eat my food for lunch every lunch break at the classroom where I can see the Lapukan. I am grabbing the opportunity that I can watch its beauty for now, before the new owner put a high concrete barrier on the area.

blog4 picture5.jpg

I can say that it is not only me who appreciate the beauty of Lapukan, as well as the high school students of our school also love to spend or hang around on the native hut facing the ocean during their lunch break. I watched them from the window of the classroom how delighted and happy they are while sitting on the native hut eating their lunch and enjoying the fresh air.

blog4 picture6.jpg

The splendor view of Lapukan is not well-known in the town of Tabogon. Typically, people who do swimming in Lapukan are only local people or resident. There are also fishing boat on the area owned by the local fishermen. The area help the fishermen economically because most of the shoreline or beach front now a day are private property and furthermost of the landlord or owner do not allow anybody to intrude the area. Some are putting giant concrete fence and others are asking for an entrance fee.

blog4 picture7.jpg
The Lapukan when it is low tide
blog4 picture8.jpg

The people in the community understand that it is business; on the other hand, individuals who are actually affected are local fishermen. It is their source of income and only few coastlines left in our town that permits fishermen to put their fishing boats for free and letting local people to do swimming without paying anything.

blog4 picture9.jpg

As of now, local people can still do swimming and put their fishing boat on the area for free. You can also bring food while relaxing and refreshing on the area. Just be responsible of your own garbage.

blog4 picture10.jpg

There are a lot of mangrove species on its coast. It is very important because mangroves serve as the breeding ground of the fishes and other marine organisms. It also supports as a barrier to the land mass if ever there will be a natural phenomenon like the tsunami or a massive tidal wave. It reduces the impact and damages to people who live nearby. Moreover, it also produces oxygen; the fresh air that we breathe. Mangroves helps by absorbing the greenhouse gases in our atmosphere like the smoke from the vehicles, factories, burning garbage like plastics, foam and rubber. Furthermore, it releases an abundant supply of fresh air in our surroundings especially now that our country has a high heat index observed and reported by the Philippine Atmospheric Geophysical and Astronomical Services Administration (PAGASA).

blog4 picture11.jpg

What if the owner will develop the area and removes the mangroves?

What if the owner no longer allowed the local fishermen to put their fishing boat?

So many what if’s, on the other hand, when the new owner develop the area and improve the coast into plain white beach and construct a huge villa or apartment someday, the place can be one of the famous tourist spots in our town, which gives a job or another source of income or it might give a better opportunity for the locals.

I just hope that the new owner will preserve the mangroves even though he or she develops the Lapukan.

I just hope that the new owner is kind hearted and feel the emotion and life of the local fishermen who are affected and permit them even just a small space for them to pass and place their fishing boat.

Lapukan is truly a peaceful place to think. If you want to stopover on the area to chill out with friends or family, be responsible and respect the surroundings by keeping the area clean.

As a respect, you can also ask permission from the people who live nearby that you will visit the area.

Sort:  

A perfect place to reflect.

I want this kind of weekend with the sea. Thanks for taking us in your humble hometown 🥰

A lot of hidden paradise here in my town Ma'am @jobeliever waiting for us to discover

The beauty of nature is so breathtaking, thank you for sharing @diamondinthesky ☺️.

I agree with you Ma'am @richdreamer 100%

Maybe the reason why it's called Lapukan is because it's muddy, hehe.

Places like this are just a breath of fresh air. I love how pleasing the colors of nature are.

Congratulations @diamondinthesky! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 1250 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 1500 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Feedback from the April Hive Power Up Day
Hive Power Up Month Challenge - March 2024 Winners List

Thank you so much @hivebuzz

You're making a big impact @diamondinthesky! Keep up the fantastic work and you'll reach your Hive target in no time.

BTW, we noticed we miss your support for our proposal. Mays we ask you to check it out and consider supporting it?
All you need to do is to click on the "support" button on this page: https://peakd.com/proposals/248.
Thank you!

I would like you to know @hivebuzz on how grateful I am that you appreciated my content. It inspired me to publish more significant subject matter.

I appreciate your kind thoughts @hivebuzz
I will take it as a words of encouragement to publish more genuine content 😊.

Excelente publicación, original de pie a cabeza, súper detallada.

Thank you so much sir @charlemio

We've got the same Municipality! I hope it will soon be developed in a sustainable way. It's really beautiful, I wish I could visit there soon!✨🤗

Yes Ma'am @leetalks I hope the owner will develop the area in a sustainable way.
Thank you for reading Ma'am

Wow I love your place! How I wish also to go back to my hometown.I miss province life 😍✨

Thank you Ma'am @itsme.julia It is truly nice in the province. I hope you can visit your hometown soon