Consumed by consumerism


A view of my nearest mall which I haunt I found the STOP sign funny.

When I was a child, I used to hanker after handmade greeting cards. Now, as an adult, the best card is a credit card. It is the bane and boon of my existence. It buys me pretty things that fill the void of a lost childhood, but it makes me anxious about bills due to pesky adulthood.

That brings me to my thoughts on consumerism. It is instant gratification. If we were taught anything in school, it was that only delayed gratification works, but for me, shopping and buying pretty things is a great pick-me-up.

Instant gratification leads to instant results: My professor used to tell a story about research on this phenomenon. So, children were made to come into rooms, and a stranger would give them an offer:

They would be offered a marshmallow, and if they didn't eat it while the researcher was outside (pondering his profession), they would get a second marshmallow.

However, if they ate it, that's it. No more marshmallows.

The study further stalked, nay, followed, the lives of the subjects, and those that waited for the marshmallow were more successful.

But,

There is something to be said for eating a marshmallow when you want one and not waiting to have more when you don't even want one.

When I'm not feeling that well mentally, a good shopping jaunt, even if it is just window shopping, is awesome. It puts me back on track.

Another reason that may seem laughable but actually works. My personal trainer nags that I don't go for jogs or walks other than the days I train. But if I have to find the perfect t-shirt, watch me put Olympic power walkers to shame. My fitbit might spontaneously combust from the fire of consumerism.

A different and more altruistic reason is that I need to foster the economy. I am the sole person standing between Jeff Bezos and despair. If we don't spend, what are the rich going to eat? What about those gold-foil ice creams and caviar-infused sparkling water? Jokes apart, consumers drive an economy and maintain its balance. If I go even further, consumerism creates jobs.

Female bonding at its best. There is no better way to bond two ladies (generally speaking) than hanging out and shopping while trying clothes they are not going to buy. I personally go and hang out with my girlfriends to shop till we drop... into a bar to consume more alcohol.

Consumerism is the momentum that saves life from inertia.


All pictures have been inexpertly taken by me.

Sort:  

https://leofinance.io/threads/view/magnacarta/re-leothreads-sdis1kqx
The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people ( magnacarta ) sharing the post on LeoThreads,LikeTu,dBuzz.

Hey @diebitch
I'm all for delayed gratification, but whether I agree or disagree with you is irrelevant. I can't fault your reasoning, and there's a lot of truth in what you've mentioned... Most of all, your post is bloody funny 👍

In some ways, I am also in favor of delayed gratification but sometimes instant works...It is just about questioning the norm. Thanks for reading.

It is just about questioning the norm.

💯%

😆😊

Now, as an adult, the best card is a credit card.

HAHAHA I laughed hard on this and can absolutely relate to this! Except for my identification card this is one the top tier item that should be in my bag at all times.

Credits cards are the biggest man-made illusion but we fell for it.

Delayed gratification is of course and without any doubt the best of the options, it helps us to set goals and be able to achieve them.

But that aside, of course shopping was made for us who need to lose ourselves in something other than routine problems.

So while delayed gratification works very well, instant gratification is always necessary for everyone.

Absolutely, its like having sugar cravings and eating a toffee to nip it in the bud rather than wait for hours and give in to have a sundae. Sometimes, a little bit of gratification goes a long way.

This post has been manually curated by @bhattg from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating to @indiaunited. We share more than 100 % of the curation rewards with the delegators in the form of IUC tokens. HP delegators and IUC token holders also get upto 20% additional vote weight.

Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP.

image.png

100% of the rewards from this comment goes to the curator for their manual curation efforts. Please encourage the curator @bhattg by upvoting this comment and support the community by voting the posts made by @indiaunited..

This post received an extra 2.56% vote for delegating HP / holding IUC tokens.

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @diebitch.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

!PGM
!PIZZA

Sent 0.1 PGM - 0.1 LVL- 1 STARBITS - 0.05 DEC - 1 SBT - 0.1 THG - 0.000001 SQM - 0.1 BUDS - 0.01 WOO tokens

remaining commands 2

BUY AND STAKE THE PGM TO SEND A LOT OF TOKENS!

The tokens that the command sends are: 0.1 PGM-0.1 LVL-0.1 THGAMING-0.05 DEC-15 SBT-1 STARBITS-[0.00000001 BTC (SWAP.BTC) only if you have 2500 PGM in stake or more ]

5000 PGM IN STAKE = 2x rewards!

image.png
Discord image.png

Support the curation account @ pgm-curator with a delegation 10 HP - 50 HP - 100 HP - 500 HP - 1000 HP

Get potential votes from @ pgm-curator by paying in PGM, here is a guide

I'm a bot, if you want a hand ask @ zottone444


PIZZA!

$PIZZA slices delivered:
torran tipped diebitch
@magnacarta(2/5) tipped @diebitch

At the moment I may be able to buy only a Vespa moped (not really, but that's not the point), but with enough time I can buy anything from that Vespa all the way to a Harley-Davidson motorized tricycle.

Delayed gratification now makes it easier to enjoy instant gratification later. Part of it is just not ending up in the hole due to fast-accumulating debt. Part of it is about being in position to have better options. It's the opposite of "Serenity now, insanity later."


I was going through my list of followers and I wanted to see how things are going. It's been a while since we last communicated; I hope things are OK at your end.

If you want to reply and keep the Comments section in this post for post comments, feel free to drop me a message at my Message Board

It's too late for me to upvote this post, so please accept this slice of !PIZZA, a bit of !LUV, and and an !LOL / !LOLZ instead.