It's The Weekend So Go Classical

Hey everyone,

I hope you had a nice weekend so far.

It is raining here in Wellington so I have a lot of time for my blog this weekend. It is perfect, just what I need at the moment as I am limiting my social activities to prepare for my upcoming trip to Argentina in just 11 days. How exciting!!!

As I don't have anything interesting to do this weekend, I would love to share with you about my last weekend. It has been long since I didn't have a good weekend like the last one with nice weather and great activities for my soul.

New Zealand Symphony Orchestra Playlist - From one side of the galaxy to the other...

Around two weeks ago my partner discovered that there was a three-day festival with over 100 classical music performances from 22nd to the 24th of July. We decided right away to book the start performance by the New Zealand Symphony Orchestra in Michael Fower Centre, Wellington with conductor Hamish McKeich and pianist Benjamin Carter performing the biggest hits of classical music, including the very first piano concerto recorded in 1909.

The entrance of Michael Fowler Centre

On our way to get tickets before getting in

Still had enough time for me to take some photos of the place

It looks empty but trust me, this consider a 'big' event for Wellington standard

To be honest, I was always stress when going to classical music events. Growing up, I was surrounded by Vietnamese and Korean pop music characterized by catchy, repetitive rhythms. I listen to this trendy music because other friends also do. So when it comes to classical music, I found it quite hard to understand and during the performance I would very often asking myself what's good about it. Until this time, I sorted of know and finally stopped asking that question.

The show started with a performace about the sunrise of mankind, followed by the young talented pianist Benjamin. I didn't know anything about him but I could tell he is a good player by the way he played and how the crowd applaused him. Anyway, I hadn't got impressed yet until the fourth performance started to play.

I couldn't catch the name of the masterpiece but the minutes they started to play, it was like magical things happened in my head. I started seeing sunlight shining on my face, flowers blooming in colours and a gentle touch of the wind on my face. Looking around, I was standing in a greenland with moutains in the background. I could see dandelion flying in the wind around me and then somehow I feel that my body was so light and I just fly with them. Slowly then fast and then we are becoming one.

People often talk about how they feel when they hear a good performance and they told me: You don't need to understand it, just let yourself emerge in them. It was so hard for me before. I just didn't know how or probably the performances I watched before weren't exactly talking to my soul.

The last repertoires were - Ride of the Valkyries - influenced by astronomy and the universe and the scores from John Williams (Star Wars). I didn't have much impression about them.

For me, this concert was amazing because it was my first time to discover a spark moment with classical music. Best of all, we only paid $10 NZD per person for an hour show. On my upcoming trip to Buenos Aires, my partner and I will go to a concert performed by a great pianist in the world. I will let you know more about her on that post. Thank you for stopping by and have a lovely weekend. Cheers, Dora.

divider.png

Hive viet badge (1).png

Designed with Canva

Sort:  

I feel so excited about your Argentina trip babe and wish you both have a wonderful time there. Make sure to take many pictures and can't wait to hear stories about the trip 😍😍😍

Thanks, love. Will do. Remember to take care of yourself and enjoy Melbourne

I have ben to that concert hall many years ago I cannot remember what it was to see, but at the time I had not travelled out of NZ and was ver impressed with it, and found Wellington so crowded and vowed I hated big cities,
time changed that perspective for me, working in NYC for many years I came to realize Wellington is not that busy LKOL

Looks like an awesome concert and have fun in Argentina

Thank you. I am so glad you recognise this concert hall. I know that feeling - it is the reason I left big cities in Vietnam to come to NZ. And for me it is just perfect, just what I need. Even thought the city centre is small but I can easily access mountains, parks, and beaches within walking distance. Hope you have a wonderful weekend.

My pleasure to visit your post that’s one great thing about NZ there is so much to see and do all within short distances

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Thank you so much for your support @ecency team. I really appreciate it.

Congratulations @dora381! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 2000 HP as payout for your posts, comments and curation.
Your next payout target is 3000 HP.
The unit is Hive Power equivalent because post and comment rewards can be split into HP and HBD

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Day - August 1st 2022