Weekend history lesson: Equestrian Monument to the Liberator Simón Bolívar - Plaza Bolívar, Mérida, Venezuela

DSCI0699.JPG

One of my favorite weekend activities is to visit the center of the city of Merida, Venezuela, I like to enjoy the architectural and artistic works that are concentrated in the center of Merida. Spaces destined for recreation and tourism, very active from the commercial and gastronomic point of view, where without a doubt, we can know a little more of the history of the country, through monuments and places like the one I share with you today, thanks to the suggestions of Weekend-Engagement in its 118th week.

Equestrian Monument to the Liberator Simón Bolívar - Plaza Bolívar, Mérida, Venezuela

This monument is a magnificent work, I have noticed that in the main squares of the country, the monuments in honor of the Liberator, are equestrian, while in the municipal or secondary squares, the statues, are standing or just the bust. One of the most beautiful equestrian monuments I have seen so far is this one.

It is located on a beautiful pedestal covered in marble, beige, with letters inscribed on the sides, which gives us a lot of information about it. In the front part we see the shield of the State of Merida and right there we can discover that this monument was inaugurated in the year 1930, since then, this Monument has been a public and historical patrimony of the city.

On the back side, the Coat of Arms of Venezuela and below it, the years in which Simon Bolivar visited Merida, 1813, 1820 and 1821. The sunlight did not allow me to capture this side, but every time I read this, my mind goes back to my adolescence, because I remember that every year, there was a civic parade commemorating the passage of Bolivar through this beautiful Andean state, and we had to dress in typical costumes of the time, becoming a fun experience with my classmates.

In the following picture we can see the right side of the monument, which we can see from the majestic Cathedral of Merida, we can see how the horse looks to the side and has its front leg raised, while the liberator wields his sword, I admire the Liberator's horse, sometimes I even feel sorry for him, for all that he had to go through and live. Animals can also be heroes. I will translate, for the community, what is inscribed on this side of the pedestal and visualized in the image:


Merida
Destroyed by the earthquake
It gave you, however,
in 1813 Five Hundred Volunteers
Sixteen hundred cannons
Eight hundred cavalry
Thirty thousand pesos in gold
To liberate Venezuela.

DSCI0697.JPG


This place is a place full of respect, my father tells me, that years ago, it was forbidden to pass in front of this monument with bags or luggage, run past, sit on the pedestal or perform any activity that was considered disrespectful or impolite. If you did not comply, you could be fined or arrested.

Unfortunately, much of this has been lost to time, people just walk by as and when they please. However, much of the people of the state still respect the site, the monument and what it stands for. Thanks to this, it is still preserved in good condition, obviating some wear and tear and cracks that I observe in the pedestal.

DSCI0705.JPG

I really like the contrast between the monument, the palm trees and the trees of the Plaza Bolivar, all the time it is full of people, enjoying the view of the plaza and the shade of the trees. Some people enjoy a good book, others enjoy a good chat, children enjoy running after the pigeons and the younger ones gather to listen to music and enjoy themselves.

It is always a pleasure to write about Merida, if someday life brings you to visit my city, I hope you will stop to admire this and other monuments of my city.

Happy weekend, thanks for making it this far.


Translation done at DeepL

Navy and Pink Floral Wedding Brunch Facebook Cover.jpg

Sort:  

My liberator in the city of knights

The one in Merida is one of the most beautiful Bolivar squares I know. The one in Caracas and the one in Merida.

Yes the one in Caracas is beautiful, I was very small but I have seen some pictures. Thank you very much.

My grandmother and my mother always said that passing in the middle of the plaza was considered disrespectful, as was passing in a short skirt or very bare midriff.
Unfortunately, those values are over, beyond not being able to move in the square, respect for history and its knowledge, are sorely lacking today.
Each equestrian statue has its history, as well as its interpretation, since it depends on the importance of the city, whether it is an equestrian statue, the hero standing alone, or a bust. Did you know?

Yes, all that is lost now, at least that, it helped to keep them longer, to pass in front of them, no problem but I have seen people sitting on the pedestals even.

Congratulations @doriangel! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You got more than 1750 replies.
Your next target is to reach 2000 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

HiveFest⁷ badges available at the HiveBuzz store
HiveFest⁷ meetup in Amsterdam is next week. Be part of it and get your badge.