In vino veritas

When I saw one of the themes that @galenkp gave us for this 204 week #weekendegnagement, I immediately thought of Ernest Hemingway's saying: "The only thing I regret in life is that I didn't drink more wine".

I'm not an everyday wine drinker, but I like to drink a glass of wine.

And to try a hundred more wines in my life 🙂


Wine is the drink of the gods, the ancient Greeks said. The vine was given to them by the god Dionysus when he picked a small vine plant he liked on his way through Asia.
Deciding to take it, he chose a strange way and planted it in a hollow bird bone.
Due to the rapid growth during the journey, Dionysus transplanted the vine into a lion's bone, and soon into a donkey's bone.
The ancient Greeks gladly accepted the gift of God and over time learned how to make the intoxicating juice.

That is why when a man drinks wine, he is as cheerful as a bird, but if he continues, he is as rude as a lion. Sometimes he goes to extremes, so like a stubborn donkey he does not stop drinking "just one more glass".


I mostly drink wine in company, so it doesn't happen that I drink more than I should.
I drink just enough so that I don't become roaring like a lion.

I drink red wine, dessert sweet wine, rose wine and now I can see from the pictures, I mostly drink white.
I drink red wine with strong red meats, so white or rose wine is my choice with light dishes or light appetizers.

"Wine nourishes, refreshes and cheers up. When the wine runs out, medicine is needed"
As it is written in the Talmud: It is better for me to drink a glass of wine than to reach for medicine...

It is known that red wine has a beneficial effect on the blood system.
Scientists say that polyphenols from wine destroy the bacteria that cause gum disease.
According to one study, moderate consumption of red wine can have a positive effect on our heart and blood pressure, as well as type 2 diabetes.
The natural antioxidants found in the grape skin are responsible for such a positive effect of wine on our body.

Why do I like to drink wine?
Every time I pour water into a glass that I need to drink, the thought crosses my mind that this water circulates through the earth, is purified, evaporates, rains fill rivers and lakes, we drink it, return it to nature, it circulates again, we drink it again ...
The question is how clean is that naturally or artificially purified water, whether it contains bacteria and feces...

And with wine, I don't have that dilemma.
I know that the vines squeezed the water out of the ground as the juice gathered in the clusters.
Nothing but grapes is needed to make wine. No sugar, preparations that promote fermentation and the like. Only and exclusively grapes that start the fermentation process...


Folk sayings, from east to west, tell us that wine is spread all over the world:

"One bottle of wine in life is better than three bottles of wine after death" Korean proverb

"A barrel of wine can do more miracles than a church full of saints" Italian proverb

"Eating without wine is either poverty or stupidity" Spanish proverb

"He who drinks wine does not know its harmfulness, he who does not drink it does not know its benefits" Japanese proverb

"Wine is medicine in a pleasant form" French proverb

"If you want to know a people, sit at their table and drink their wine" Italian proverb

"Good wine doesn't need anyone to talk about it" is a Chilean proverb

I always have several bottles of wine in reserve, red, rose or white, dry, semi-dry, sweet, dessert.

From the number of bottles of the same wine, you can conclude that red wine is drunk the most, I drink dry wine, and my partner likes this dessert wine.

I have two bottles that I got for a job well done, Crognolo, I've been saving them for a few years now, and I'm waiting for a bad opportunity or a little bigger company, to drink both bottles. I think that during the gifting I was told to wait until 2023 and drink them until 2033. I believe that these two bottles will not make it to 2025 😃


Thank you for stopping by my post and I hope you enjoyed the photos and the story I shared with you


All photos are my property, taken with a mobile phone


Sort:  

Although I am not a good wine drinker, hardly a water drinker, I love the whole process and the final product...
The wines are delicate and fine, and yes, you get to know a town through its wines ...Cheers 🍷

Cheers, dear.
We have some vines on the property, where my parents used to make their wine. But I wasn't interested in the process of making wine.
Their wine was like juice, they never had a good procedure for obtaining wine that can be kept for a long time.

Congratulations @duskobgd! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 30000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 35000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Our Hive Power Delegations to the April PUM Winners
Feedback from the May Hive Power Up Day
Hive Power Up Month Challenge - April 2024 Winners List