The Delivery man: Weekend Package

A knock on the door woke me up from my afternoon nap. It had been raining heavily that Saturday and all I wanted to do was sleep. Reluctantly I woke up and headed to the door, grumbling and wondering who had cut short the sleep I was enjoying. Standing before me was a strange man wearing a raincoat and holding a red box twined with a yellow rope.

"Hello, is this Mr Williams?" He asked with a smile on his face.

"Yes" I replied and reciprocated the smile. He was wearing dark glasses but the wrinkles on his forehead looked familiar. I stared at him for a while trying to recall where I knew him . He cleared his throat bringing my attention back "Here is a package for you" he said handing out the box he was holding. I collected it and tried unwrapping it with my head bent down.

"This package is from .....?" I saw him walking down to his car before the question could pop out.

Photo source

Before the weekend, I had visited my grandma who no longer recognized people, even those dear to her, her memories seem to fade almost immediately. She stared at me continually and kept asking repeatedly who I was. How age had made the once strong woman this frail , her feet and hands shiver. She no longer could help herself and I wondered how life steals our strength just when we should enjoy the fruit of our labor. Nothing seems to please her now, nor the luxuries of life, it was as if humans work for their generation to eat from their sweat. I sat on the stairs worried about the possibility of making the old retain their memories and strength and enjoying the old age as if they were still young.

I unwrapped the box, inside the gift box was a small machine with three buttons. On One of the buttons was written Memories restoration , the other strength regaining and the third button had nothing written on it. It sounded funny as I held the small machine. No one had made such a thing, and nature's law made no room for becoming young again. Dazed on what to do I decided to visit my grandma's house, connected the wires on her and clicked on memories restoration and later strength regaining. It worked but on the last button was a note- **Proceed if she's willing to enjoy a month of what youthfulness feels again before joining her ancestors " it was a choice for me to make, one needed to pay a price to enjoy the youthfulness they craved for. It was shocking how many sons brought their grandma for this, they wanted to use this moment to say "Thank You mother for the times you stood by me".

Sort:  


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @dwixer ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.