Falling out my kayak

in Weekend Experiences • 2 months ago

Above is the site of my demise 😂. Well it can’t be all that bad, look how amazing this place is.
You can see another kayaker in this picture, there were two of them hanging around the entrance to this cave. They hadn’t quite mustered up the courage to venture in, beacuse as the cave narrowed any swell entering intensified.
Me being me, thought well its a calm day shouldn’t be hard and what’s the worst that can happen?

I paddled toward the darkness not knowing exactly how far back it went, but ended up not being too deep and had a little bit of sand I could get out and stand on.

Due to some swell coming in and washing my kayak around, I decided not to stay there long. Time to try and get back in the kayak and paddle out backwards as i couldnt turn around my 12ft kayak. And this is the bit where I get wet!

sk

Well I’m not letting a little wetness slow down my adventure, so I climbed back in the kayak and set off to find a new cave. This next cave was the largest of them all, not as long as my favourite cave but very tall and the water was deeper.

There were a few fish swimming around but none bigger than 30cms. I paddled back to where i started having had a great adventure kayaking into caves.

This was the 3rd and final post of a series of 3. You are welcome to find the other parts if the adventure here:
https://ecency.com/hive-168869/@elsh/exploring-caves-on-my-kayak
https://ecency.com/hive-168869/@elsh/exploring-caves-on-my-kayak-15d2169155b2a

All photos and video are my own and captured on iphone 14 or gopro 9 black.

Sort:  

Pretty sure, you had an amazing experience! Thanks for sharing this.

Yeah it’s a beautiful part of Australian coastline.

It is absolutely beautiful!

Awesome, what's the name of the place? Thanks for sharing your adventure!

It’s between Second Valley and Rapid Bay in South Australia.

Congratulations for this wonderful experience, I wish you many more.

Congratulations @elsh! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You distributed more than 400 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 500 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Happy Birthday to the Hive Blockchain