Weekend-Engagement writing topics: WEEK 162 || Thoughts

Hello Friends!


I hope you had a fantastic and relaxing weekend. Although mine was a bit busy with various household chores, I set aside the time to write and share a bit of my thoughts with you.

IMG_0855.jpg


336379557_1931945047168662_5964354717131944773_n.jpg Jacinto Morado

Among the alternatives of participation that @galenkp offered us for this weekend I chose to make a reflection based on the thought of Marcus Aurelius:

Such as are your habitual thoughts, such also will be the character of your mind; for the soul is dyed by the thoughts. Marcus Aurelius

It would be great to be able to say for sure that we own what we think, but it turns out that, most of the time, we do not. Every day our brain is besieged and bombarded by all kinds of information that makes us think, rethink and sometimes even change what we had shortly before taken for granted.

We need to be more conscious and not let negative thoughts disturb our spirit. Because although it is true that we are not the owners of the thoughts that come into our head, we can take control of those that remain in it and try to make them work in our favor or at least not let them manipulate us.

I have twins with autism, mild and moderate respectively and also ADHD. The one with moderate autism had a nervous breakdown yesterday and there was a moment in which he told me: _"The mind is bad mom, it always makes me repeat the same thing"_ (he was alluding to a tic that he sometimes has). He, in his little reasoning about things, told me a great truth, one that for him was very real and from which it was impossible to escape, because how do you escape from your own thoughts? I stayed with him and told him that we had to make his thoughts obey him, that with his mouth he should say what he had to do and in this way he got out of his situation. He just repeated out loud what he should or wanted to do without giving his mind a chance to distract him with another thought and then he did what he said he was going to do.

This got me to meditating and thinking that there is a fine line between sanity and insanity and that we need to underline it so that we don't get lost. We need to guide our thoughts in positive ways that help us build and enhance motivation, peace, joy of life.

IMG-20230430-WA0044.jpg

I appreciate the opportunity to share a bit of my life journal with you. So much for my participation. Invitation for participation is open every weekend, don't let it pass you by!!

moro.jpg

All photographs and editions are my authorship and property.

Thank you for being, supporting and commenting.

Sort:  

Your son is brave and intelligent. I know many people who don't have to struggle with autism and yet they are not able to identify when their minds are playing tricks on them, much less control it.

Best wishes, @esthersanchez ❤️

Thank you, he really is. From a very young age he knows how to differentiate many things, from an internal point of view. I appreciate your visit and appreciation of my post. Best wishes to you too @marlyncabrera!

Wn2j.gif