Childhood career dreams

hello everyone

it's another weekend and I am glad I am writing this before the clocks stop but first I wonder how @galenkp brings up his questions every week because the questions are always on point and it just had a way to open up the mind and bring back amazing memories.

Like this weeks question ask

One: When I grow up I want to...
As children, we all had ambitions to be and do certain things as adults. Do you remember yours? (I wanted to be a fireman). Tell us about what you wanted to be when you grew up, and why.? If you managed to achieve your desired result, what did you do to make it happen and how did you stay on track.

Who remembers career day in primary school when every kid wears what they want to become when they grow up?

Ooh, I dreaded those days because my parent would have to argue about my outfits for a career they wanted me to study and become. My mum is a nurse and she had a chemist, it was her long dream for one of us to either be a doctor or a pharmacist, a doctor obviously because of the title DR. But pharmacist because she has the dream of owning a pharmacy someday and the rule is you need a Licences as a pharmacist so every career day trusts my mum to get me a lab coat and stethoscope.

I knew I was going to hate a career in that line already because of how much it has been planted in my mind, every day all day.

My dad, on the other hand, wanted me to be an agriculturist/farmer. He would say he sees the bigger picture that by the time I am grown agriculture and farming, in general, will be the next big thing. He believed that I should take maybe a cutlass/hoe( baby-friendly ) or something to indicate I wanted to be a farmer. I had this set of toys as a child that has lots of equipment cutlass, hoes, and rakes inclusive so In my head, he was saying this to avoid paying for any more custom.

I changed careers from time to time but these careers were a priority to my parents. But after every argument, We always ended up with my mother’s idea, mother’s win.

I was never happy, especially When I get to see most of the boys with helmets and jackets wanting to become an engineer, 70% of the boy everytime and I get so jealous of how cool their outfit looks, I remember getting angry and asking my teacher why can’t girls become engineers too and she says there is a job that a man can do and there are jobs women are not allowed to do.

image source

My father tells me to this day how angry I was when I got home that day, and I was determined to become an engineer. I was just 6 years old but I was so sure it was what I wanted. The next career day I remember my dad getting me a helmet and jacket. It wasn’t even the baby-friendly helmets, a real helmet, and a jacket. I was so excited to be taking it to school, I felt like an engineer already even though I didn’t even know what part of engineering all I cared for was that I could become an engineer.

This time around I had a new teacher and she wasn’t biased at all and even called the school photographer to take pictures of us and sent copies to our parent’s that’s why I still remember because when I see the picture, my dad referenced this story all over again.

Trust me to have already planned what my child would wear for his career day, one of many .he would easily wear something casual and hold a tablet or his iPad to signify Tech life, who would have thought that tech jobs would be the next big thing 20 years later, even in agriculture my dad anticipated it still has to be incorporated into tech I do not think any career can strive in this generation without technology.

Did I attain my goal of becoming an engineer?
66157817-5C96-4781-A54A-5B000374BEBE.png

I tried so hard, I became so good with maths and physics, engineering was the goal but getting an admission became My stumping block.

image source

It was a Hard process, I applied for petroleum engineering in different government schools but I ended up with education courses so I had to settle for geology which is super close to what I wanted besides geologists working side by side with petroleum engineers in fact without geologists a petroleum engineering do no have a job. So yes I can say I achieved my goal and even better. Sadly it is just a degree, for now, not putting it into practice yet but eventually, I will.

Right now I am focused on improving my skills, especially as a writer, I am still in my 20s so anything is still possible. I have a long time ahead of me to further my education and pursue my child long dreAm, that's if my dream does not change but we will see.

Sort:  

Your involvement in #weekend-engagement WE93 is greatly appreciated by @galenkp and THE WEEKEND community team. We hope you have a great weekend and will come back again soon.

WE TFE image (1).png

Image created using canva

Hello @estherscott

You still have time to do whatever you settle on. I was kinda chuckling in my head as I read your description of when you were a kid, being a bit rebellious because your mom had chosen a profession for you.

It seems like you had your heart set on becoming an engineer, I'm sure that if you set your mind & heart to it that you would be able to achieve it.

being a bit rebellious because your mom had chosen a profession for you.

Yes, I was, maybe if she hadn't emphasis too much on the medical field, I may have just given it a try.

Lol I can actually see it in my mind, you being a bit defiant - I was like that too. Nothing wrong with being headstrong!

Have a lovely day Esther

You mean you are a whole ass Geologist????
You go girl!!!💃💃💃
That’s so fly…

Please try and use the degree…
It’s an amazing career path.

I’ll try..its my location sha, maybe if I was in PH /RIVERS using my degree would have been a work in the park.

Pray about it, explore opportunities out there for you, talk to you hubby and give it a shot…

It’s not exactly as easy but where there’s a will, there’s a way.

I wish you all the best in any path you decide to thread 💕💕