Weekend on the road

in Weekend Experiences2 years ago (edited)

I spent the whole weekend on the road traveling from one end of Nigeria to another.

IMG_20211203_081406.jpg

The journey started on Friday from Abuja when I started a journey to Lagos. I planned to use the opportunity to touch many places because it has been 3 years I traveled to that part of the country.

A friend of mine did his wedding over the weekend which I attended in Ogun State, I went to see a friend in Lagos and also went to see my family in Ibadan.

It was a previlege to do all this on a weekend and I'm happy I was able to do all these.

I know many will question my traveling by road to such a long distance because from Abuja to Lagos is around 745Km, coupled with the bad roads and the high rate of insecurity in Nigeria where kidnapping happens every on our road. The question will be, why will I want to go through the stress?

Flight ticket from Abuja to Lagos is around ₦40,000($75). This means I would have spent nothing less than $150 on flight ticket only, apart from other money spent. Looking at my pocket, going by flight was not an option. I knew it was going to be stressful and I was prepared for it.

I traveled by road from Abuja to Lagos on Friday. For a distance of 745km that was supposed to be 12 hrs, we spent 16 hrs on the road. During the journey, we had 2 stop overs to relax and eat for 15mins each at Lokoja on Kogi State and at Akure in Ondo State.

IMG_20211203_161634.jpg

We left Abuja around 7:00am and got to Lagos at around 11:00pm. In fact I got to my hotel room around 12:00 midnight.

IMG-20211204-WA0004.jpg

On Saturday morning which was my friend's wedding day, we took off from Lagos to Ota in Ogun state where the ceremony was held and that was another hectic journey. For a journey that was supposed to be like 30 mins, we spent like 3 hrs on the road because of traffic. In fact at a time we had to take bikes in order to beat the traffic.

IMG_20211203_150229.jpg

Even though we arrived a bit late to the ceremony, we thank God it was successful.

IMG_20211204_110008.jpg

After the wedding, I traveled back to Victoria Island in Lagos from Ota in Ogun State which took another 3 hrs to see a friend. It's been long we saw and it was a great moment seeing ourselves again.

I stayed there till Sunday morning then left Victoria Island in for Ibadan in Oyo to see my family. That took another 4 hrs journey.

IMG_20211203_100928.jpg

It was a great reunion with my family and they are all happy to see me after 3 yrs.

On Monday morning I started a journey back to Abuja from Ibadan. We took off around 8:00am and got to Abuja around 8:00pm Nigerian Time to my wife and daughter.

IMG_20211206_200137.jpg

It was a fun filled weekend from attending a friend's wedding to seeing a friend after 10 years and meeting with my family (parents and siblings) after 3 years, though the journeys were stressful.

Despite the bad roads and in the middle of insecurity in Nigeria, there was no issue throughout the journey.

Thank God for journey mercies.


All pictures taken with my Huawei Y7p mobile phone.


Thanks for Dropping By !

Best regards

fatherfaith
Sort:  

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @fatherfaith.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

You should try much shorter, more catchy titles. Long titles aren't very engaging.